Fitbit Flex

First Impressions

Aftab Husain
Tech Gadgets

--

I had waited to try out a fitness tracker for months now and then finally, thanks to Rogers i was able to get myself a Fitbit Flex for a review and giveaway!

First Thoughts

Initially, it was very easy to set up.

It came with a usb cord, an extra large band in case you have big hands and a usb sync device.
Being a complete newbie to this, it took some time to get the hang of things and understand what the Flex is really meant for and how it works.
Signed up for it online, it was easy to set up on my Mac and i had to install an app, but the funny part is that the app only syncs with your Flex and then uploads that data to your profile or account.
You cannot see your progress, steps taken or anything at all on your PC. well unless you have internet access.

Issues

When all was going alright, i thought why not download the Fitbit app on my phone as i won’t have my PC with me all the time and using the browser for it won’t give me a more personal experience the app would.

It’s available on the PlayStore and i downloaded it, signed in, seemed alright then all of a sudden i couldn’t sync the Flex with my phone.
Did some googling and Aha!
It’s not compatible with all Android devices, only devices that have Bluetooth 4.0 and are running Android 4.3 Jellybean.
To my surprise, my device (Nexus 4) had both! But it still won’t work.

Syncing issues

All hail Google!

Hope was not lost, did some more googling and found a modded version of the app on the XDA Developers Forum!

App found on the XDA forum

First Impression Conclusion

Once synced, the Fitbit flex seems to be working nicely and has no problems at all, steps are also being counted accurately but there is still a lot to be learnt and experienced with the Flex.

Stay tuned for my full Review and Giveaway which should be coming up soon!

--

--

Aftab Husain
Tech Gadgets

I make Youtube videos on smartphones, tablets, apps and games. Smartphone Junkie - Tech Enthusiast