Want Business Success? Take These College Courses

Kyle York
Tech In Boston
Published in
3 min readFeb 25, 2016

A few months ago I dropped a tweet on Twitter giving a shout out to my alma mater Bentley University on the most foundational courses that shape my business career.

Go ahead and follow me on Twitter @kyork20

I majored in marketing with a minor in management (and partying and football which taught me a lot too!), but being a business school, it was the general business courses that proved most valuable to me as they focused on the softer skills I most leverage everyday. Sure, I learned a ton in Macro Economics, High-Tech Marketing, Market Research and the case study courses like GB 301, but in practice and daily life as a professional the following were can’t do without — THANK YOU, Bentley.

I sometimes wonder how non-business degree folks even get through the day without this practice. Sure, you can read a book or watch a YouTube video, but a full semester of study is truly learning.

Maybe there is another post on why I didn’t get an MBA (and I suppose I still could), but instead let me elaborate on the courses from my recollection of the teachings and how they are relevant to me today.

Interpersonal Relations: Is there a more important skill in business than communication? The networking and relationships we build in our careers are the one thing that travels with us from job to job across a multi-decade career. Your ability to engage, relate, listen and learn, articulate your thoughts clearly, show empathy, and build trust are paramount. This course primarily forced the tough situations and conversations we all inevitably face in the business world and prepared us to think on the fly. I leverage what I learned here every single day.

Public Speaking: I’m consistently asked to get in front of an audience. Sometimes it’s one person, the biggest to date at probably around 1000. Dyn itself is nearly 500 people worldwide, so it’s a regular occurrence to be in front of a room. This class taught us a great deal about story telling, cadence, facial and hand gestures, body language, delivery and eye contact. Presence and dynamism can’t be taught, but can be worked on and honed. This class forced the students out of their comfort zone, regardless of topic, and challenged us all to embrace the moment on stage. (I’m live at the CIOSynergy Los Angeles event in 90 minutes!)

Negotiation: With a career in strategy, sales, marketing, and business and corporate development, I feel like all I do is negotiate and do deals. Coming to a “price” or agreement/contract is simply what the buyer and seller can agree to. There are always at least two parties at the negotiation table and learning how to read your adversary, understand signaling and tells, derive shared value, and drive outcomes were the biggest takeaways I remember from this course. As the opportunities in my career get bigger and more complex, I turn to the role playing in this class constantly, with more and more on the line.

Anything to add? What courses did you take along the education journey that helped get you where you are?

--

--

Kyle York
Tech In Boston

CEO & Managing Partner at York IE. Startup growth & go-to-market strategy. https://york.ie