Ryley Moran
2 min readOct 15, 2021

A Terror on Film

Photo by Luke Stackpoole on Unsplash

I think the film for me that best fits the definition of “evoking the aesthetic of the extreme” would probably be a clockwork orange. When I was in highschool I started to get really into cinema, so I started watching what critics and fans were calling some of the best movies of all time. I knew that there were bound to be some movies that were extreme and pretty violent, but the violence in those movies had a purpose, it had a reason to be happening. The first time I watched Stanley Kubricks a clockwork orange I was appalled by the violence the delinquency of the characters of this film, the part that bothered me the most, however, was their lack of reason for what they were doing, calling it a bit of fun, or claiming it was time for ultraviolence was just without purpose other than the purpose of being violent for violence sake. It frightened me to an extent, I understood this was a movie but to even think that humans would be capable of such violence without reason just made me feel sick, what made me feel even worse was how they were treated once they were caught by the government. The whole movie shocked me, it also gave me some sense of dread because of the fact that these were not monsters, they were not creatures from space, they were human, they were just humans doing awful things to each other.