Week 5: Tech Journal | Me and Technology

Isadora Lee
Tech Journal Cyberpunk
2 min readOct 8, 2021
Photo by Christin Hume on Unsplash

William Gibson and other authors in the science fiction genre often conceive the Matrix as a physical space. Technology is weird, it is often just hardware and software put together to make something. My laptop is no different. I am separate from it, I can leave my laptop in my room and go to another room completely delinking myself. Likewise if I just simply press the power button on my laptop it turns off ceasing to run. It’s not very hard to physically distance yourself from technology, then why does technology specifically our computers and our phones have such a hold on us? It´s because as a society our technology is so closely woven with ourselves that even if we physically separate the two, they are still connected. When you put your phone down and hear a little buzz from it indicated you have a notification you pick it up connecting yourself back to your phone. It goes further than that. Oftentimes when I am not on my computer or on my phone I feel like a am being left out of something. What is currently happening? did someone post something new? Should I watch their new video? These are all questions I asked myself when I am away with technology. Thankfully these thoughts don’t consume my day, but it still happens. Technology is so connected with our mind and body that it is hard to truly separate yourself from it.

--

--