Going for the thing takes zero talent

Allison from Juniper
Tech Ladies
Published in
2 min readMay 13, 2019

Recently I’ve been thinking about the things you can do for your career that take zero talent. One of the big ones? Putting yourself out there. Going for it. You know, it sounds like an empty platitude but when actually practiced on the regular? Doors will keep opening.

In the Tech Ladies community, I see often see people write that they’re “thinking about” taking an action or “wanting to ask something but are afraid.”

As women, we’re taught to play small and be polite, not take up too much space. We often internalize these messages to the detriment of our own careers.

Here’s a useful tip. If you want to do something but are disqualifying yourself out of fear, try this.

Write out the following:

Action you could take:
Worst possible outcome:
Best possible outcome:

A few years ago, I was working in the marketing department of a college, and I desperately wanted to work in tech. I found a posting for a copywriter at Foursquare that I wanted. I was afraid I wouldn’t get it but I did the following:

Action: Write a post on Facebook to ask if anyone has a contact at Foursquare. A friend of a friend did, and 14 interviews later, I got hired!

Worst possible outcome: No one knows anyone, and I wasted 10 seconds making a Facebook post (no big loss).

Best possible outcome: I landed an interview, then the job. I doubled my salary and started my career in tech.

Don’t listen to fear, or rather, cut the fear down to size.

And go for the thing, Tech Ladies.

--

--