Brianna Wu on the top issues she thinks women in tech are facing

Hannah Levy
Tech Ladies
Published in
3 min readMar 25, 2019

Brianna is a candidate for US House of Representatives in MA District 8 for 2020. She’s also a software engineer, video game developer, and cyber security expert who founded and runs her own independent technology firm — and she was one of the primary targets of Gamergate.

In January, Tech Ladies hosted an #AskMeAnything with Brianna to discuss:

  • lessons learned from running a Congressional campaign
  • the top issues she thinks women in tech are facing
  • balancing a career in tech with a career in politics

Below are some of our favorite Q&As. Head over to the community for the full #AskMeAnything (you’ll have to join the group if you’re not currently a member).

Q: What are some of the major lessons you’ve learned as a candidate running for Congress?

Brianna: One of the things I’d love more women to know is THIS JOB IS FUN! It is a blast! People always talk about how dreadful politics is, and it’s just not my experience at all.

One of the first things I plan to do, if elected, is hold hearings on the tech subcommittee on the treatment of women in our field. I want to investigate pay disparity. I want to investigate sexual assault. Everything has to be on the table, because we know this system isn’t treating us fairly.

Q: How do you deal with the inevitable anxiety that comes from trolls? Do you have any rules, like “always ignore them” or “respond only in the case of XYZ”?

A: I’d love to tell you it doesn’t bother me. But the truth is, Gamergate damaged me and eventually the damage keeps you safe. Or at least you don’t feel anything anymore when someone says they plan to kill you.

I do have policies. I block people there to argue in bad faith. And I don’t respond to personal attacks. There is, unfortunately, no course of action that will keep you safe. It’s just chance.

That will change when I’m elected.

Q: What’s it like to balance a mentally intensive job with a campaign?

A: It gives you a real sense of purpose. Bad campaigns are all about the candidate. Good campaigns are all about the issues you’re trying to address. When you’re fighting for things bigger than yourself, it puts it all into perspective.

Q: What suggestions do you have for those who are becoming so frustrated by today’s administration that they begin to withdraw and feel like there is nothing they can do? Any advice for even small, daily things that can be done to assist in a bigger cause or change?

A: I think you have to think about things you can change and things you cannot. I can’t do anything about the president most days, but I can work on my race. I can say I kind word. I can give people jobs.

By focusing on the things I can affect, I’m much less worried about things I cannot.

I’m generally pretty optimistic re: ageism in tech, as the sheer lack of skilled humans to fill open tech roles means that it’s becoming more and more illogical to count out qualified, interested folks (it’s a candidates’ market!), and I hope the market will begin to correct what’s seriously broken.

Thanks to Brianna for her time and wisdom! If you have an inspiring woman or non-binary person to nominate for an #AskMeAnything in Tech Ladies, shoot me an email: hannah[at]hiretechladies.com.

Tech Ladies connects you with the best jobs and opportunities in tech. We connect companies with the best techmakers. Want to join our community of 50,000 women in tech? Apply here. (Our community and job board are both free!)

Want to post a job to Tech Ladies? Fill out this form and we’ll send you more info.

--

--

Hannah Levy
Tech Ladies

Content @Wealthfront. Community @HireTechLadies. Formerly @AminoHealth @Fastly @IndieShuffle. Cat & wine enthusiast. Murakami when the mood strikes.