Why do use Docker

Niluka Sripali Monnankulama
Many Minds
Published in
3 min readDec 11, 2019

The basic idea of this, get an understanding of why Docker...

Let me explain why we do use Docker….….….

To illustrate this with an example, I took a common sample issue you and I faced,

The process, I believe that not only me, you also have gone through at least once,

It is a flow, that you are trying to install a software in your computer and I bet at least once for you this is what has happened ..

May be you have downloaded some installer, you run it and then inevitably at some point in time you end up getting an error message during installation..

So what you do?

Well you probably troubleshoot the issue by looking on Google..

You trying to find a solution eventually solve that issue .. You then rerun installer to find but, you have some other error appearing ..And then you have to go through the entire troubleshoot process again..

So this is at its core what Docker is trying to fix….…...

Docker wants to really make it easy and really straightforward for you to install and run a software on any given computer..

Not just your computer, not just your personal laptop not just personal desktop but on web servers as well or any cloud-based computing platforms..

Now lemme explain how Docker will do this,

To do this when I am trying to install software by making use of Docker..

Example, I trying to install WSO2 Identity Server and trying to download the product(software) via terminal..

Oh I am getting an error..

Now this case the error message little bit predictable. Its complaining about the program that is just not installed in my local computer.

Now I could definitely go and troubleshoot the issue and re try..

But that’'s the whole point ..

With this we have to follow the flow which we discussed above..

So let me now show you how it is easy with Docker..

I hope you already installed Docker in your computer..

For the installation, we will use the WSO2 Identity Server Docker image repository. This is the uri: https://hub.docker.com/r/wso2/wso2is

  1. .Run one single command
docker run -it -p 9443:9443 --name is wso2/wso2is:5.7.0

And then after a very brief pause almost instantaneously I have an instance of WSO2 Identity Server up and running on my computer..And that’'s pretty much it..

That is Docker in nutshell that is how easy it is run software when you are making use of Docker..

So answer the question very directly of why we use Docker…..

--

--

Niluka Sripali Monnankulama
Many Minds

An IT professional with over 7+ years of experience. Member of the WSO2 Identity & Access Management Team.