Kindle Battery Dies Out Soon? A Quick Way to Try to Bring It Back

Edward Zhou
Tech Life & Fun
Published in
3 min readAug 9, 2020
Photo by bady abbas on Unsplash

I’m currently using a Kindle Oasis. Its battery normally lasts for more than one week. However, most recently, it became not that durable. If I read for like 20~30 minutes the night before, it would complain low battery level and as I checked, Kindle did shows like 10~15% power remaining while one day earlier it was at least 80%. I even tried to charge it to 100% but the same story repeated the next day.

It seemed that I had to admit that my Kindle Oasis battery was dying. So I tried to figure out how to do. As of now, a new Oasis cost around $250 and a replacement battery is $27.20 ~ $46.95 basing on a quick Google search. Certainly replacing a battery is more econimic way but I needed to further dig which battery is a good fit and how hard it was to replace it by myself.

Hold on, is it really a battery issue? At some time when my head was full of battery sizes and prices, a thought quickly crossed my mind.

I somehow remembered there was a post long time back saying some kind of ebook might take long time to index while indexing itself is a high computing activity and leads to power drain in a quicker manner. Although in my case I did load a few books into my Kindle Oasis, I actually did that from time to time and never ran into such problem.

But anyway, there was no harm to give it a try to save some money. Instead of figuring out which book may possibly lead to power consuming indexing or whatever other operations, I decidede to just backup every books in .awz3 file format to my laptop and then reset Kindle Oasis. Following will be steps I took for backup and reset.

Long story short, my Kindle Oasis’ power is back after resetting! It clearly shows that the battery physically is still good while some unknown reason — probably some book’s indexing — is the root cause to quick drain of its battery. Anyway, I’m glad I didn’t go ahead to buy any replacement.

How to backup Kindle books to your computer?

Since I have some ebooks which are NOT bought/downloaded from Amazon, I need to back them up. For books that are purchased through Amazon, after I reset and register my Kindle with Amazon, they will come back automatically.

Steps:

  1. Connects the Kindle to a computer using USB line.
  2. Go to the additional disk named Kindle.
  3. Copy the disk’s “documents” folder to a desired computer location.

How to reset a Kindle device?

It’s a reset, not a restart. So the Kindle device will go back to a factory default status, as Amazon puts, it is suggested before gifting or selling a device, and in some cases for troubleshooting.

Be aware: a factory reset will remove all data on that Kindle device and bringit back to its original factory settings.

Steps:

  1. From the home screen, select Menu and Select Settings.

2. Select Device Options then select Reset.

3. Read the warning carefully and when confirmed, select YES.

After the completion of a factory reset, the Kindle device is erased and acts like a brand new one. Upon its start, it will ask for WIFI connection, require my registration with Amazon and etc.

--

--