Tech Like Us:

Steven Jimenez
Tech Like Us
Published in
7 min readSep 24, 2015

The Jimenez Story Part 1

Intro

My name is Steven Jimenez, a Latino that grew up on Long Island, NY, but a city kid at heart. Currently, I am a software engineer at SurveyMonkey helping to make managing and creating surveys easier. Cycling, rock climbing, and working out keeps me sane when not at work. You can always find me either nose-deep in a book or lost listening to hip-hop, funk, or salsa. The Jimenez Story Part 1 will give you insight in my goals, motivation, and the kind of individual I was before my move to California.

This story is for those that don’t see themselves as engineers due to what they see in their community. This goes out to the students that are haunted by their SAT scores which may stop them from moving forward. Nothing is impossible.

The Hustle

Imagine sitting down on the steps of Federal Hall on Wall Street during lunch time. Tourists around you are busy snapping pictures and speaking in different languages about this old part of the city. Vendors are selling hats, scarves, gloves, etc. Wall Street executives rush by in a hurry to close a deal while visitors are walking around with their head and eyes towards the sky. Others around in their fresh suit and tie, briefcase in hand, and busy checking their schedules on their “crack berry”. Let’s not forget about NYPD and the security on Wall Street taking care of the city.

Every now and then, I’d sit on these steps and let my mind go. I’d watch the interactions around me, listen to the tranquil noise of different conversations jumping by, and just imagine myself in this city. This scene is what motivated me to be someone great. The idea of being in a great city and being part of the hustle is what I was determined to do. I wanted to be part of this city, I wanted to “own” part of that city.

However, I didn’t know what exactly I wanted to do. Like a NYC tourist, I was open and willing to try whatever came my way.

The Roots

The first thing you do when you get home is to finish your homework. After you’re done, then you can watch TV or do whatever you want. School comes first. If you are going to do something, do it right or don’t do it at all — Father Jimenez

There was no room for failure at home. My job at home was to follow the rules and do well in school. Being a 1st generation child is a big deal for me. It’s about understanding the struggle that your parents went through and appreciating their sacrifices. It’s also about dealing with two different cultures and being able to adapt.

My father was the main role model for my education. He was the only one out of his siblings to go and complete his bachelors degree in Colombia and finishing with a Masters at CUNY City College.

My beautiful mother contributed to my personality, emotional intelligence, and my ability to communicate and work with others. Mom was the go-to person to talk with about personal issues and figuring out how to deal with those issues.

I was truly blessed with great parents and a crazy yet fun family. Never will I forget the family parties, delicious Colombian BBQs, and the loud music that came along with my family.

Know from whence you came. If you know whence you came, there are absolutely no limitations to where you can go. — James Baldwin

The Blind College Experience

Sitting down as a sophomore and deciding what to major in for the next 2–3 years of your college experience is a hard task. Sometimes you just sign on the dotted line and pray that in a few years you don’t change your mind.

Becoming a programmer is something I fell into. Unlike others I never had any experience in coding nor did I understand what programming was. I entered CUNY Queens College thinking I’d become an actuary and left determined to be a software engineer. Going to school gave me the basics that I needed to know, but I fed my hunger for success by finding internships and networking when I could. My experiences at my internships and what I have learned from my networks is what has landed me the jobs I have had so far.

My colleagues played a big role in pushing me to be a good programmer, to learn from outside sources, and to learn current patterns being used in the industry. They always knew more than I did, and were making money by setting up websites for small businesses. My ignorance is what made me hungry. I learned as much as I could in school and outside of school working on side projects or going through tutorials.

Other than academics I joined Theta Delta Sigma Society, Inc. This co-ed fraternal organization played, and still plays, a big part of who I am today. My siblings have taught me what it really means to be multicultural, how to trust, be a leader, and live with unity and respect.

Motivation is simple. You eliminate those who are not motivated. — Lou Holtz

The Offer

I found myself locked in my room with the phone to my ear, with my heart racing and body shaking. The TV could be heard in the living room as my parents watch their favorite novela. My focus turns to my body and speech so that the recruiter doesn’t realize I am freaking out. Time suddenly stopped, and there was nothing but silence and the taste of success.

TuneIn is a great application that allows you to connect with different podcasts, radio stations, and music stations across the globe.

Becoming a software engineer and landing my first job was an experience I will never forget. There was plenty of frustration, stress, nervousness, and doubt. However, I believe things happen for a reason and everything falls into place. There were times that I didn’t think I was a great programmer because I wasn’t getting far in the interview process. Then there were times that I thought no company would pick me up. I just needed to believe in myself and prove to others that I was the one.

After every interview I would write down questions that I knew I answered incorrectly. If there was terminology that I didn’t understand or concepts that I was unfamiliar with, I would study until I had a good understanding of the concept. With each interview I became stronger and better prepared.

When I finally ran out of interviews I took the next approach. I asked myself, “What company products do I use now that I would love to work for?”. This approach stepped up my interview game because I was able to show that I had passion for the product.

I never planned to move to California. Most of my applications were to jobs in New York City. I didn’t believe I was good enough for a “Silicon Valley job”. To me being in Silicon Valley meant that you were extremely smart and talented. At the end of the day, the Bay Area isn’t such an intense environment where programmers are battling each other with their dual monitors, wireless mice and loud mechanical keyboards.

The interview process marked the beginning of a constant battle. This is the battle of self doubt and low self esteem. Falling into a never-ending pit of worry is what keeps people from accomplishing goals and reaching their potential.

When TuneIn offered me a software engineering job in Silicon Valley, I accepted the offer in a heartbeat. I knew this was an opportunity that I had to take. It was too good to be true, and I was ready for relocating to the West Coast.

The Move

View of SF from Treasure Island

It was all worth it. Busting my ass for good grades, digging around for great opportunities and experiences, always planning ahead, and keeping myself motivated was worth it. With the help of family, friends, and colleagues I wouldn’t be in California. You can’t reach success alone, there needs to be some guidance, mentorship or even a partner. As being part of the 3% of Latinos in the tech industry, I am proud to say that I am a software engineer.

California marks the new chapter in my life, a chapter where I get tested in many ways. With no family on the West Coast, moving to the Bay Area has been a leap of faith. What made it difficult is that had to make new friends, to find a new home, and to begin a brand new career path.

Tech Like Us: The Jimenez Story Part II: The California Gold Rush

--

--