What to do when you start to hate working on your startup

Imriel Morgan
Tech London
Published in
4 min readSep 18, 2015

--

Confessions Of A Content Marketer.

As I write this I’m listening to the ‘Get Turnt’ playlist on Spotify and as the name suggests I’m trying to achieve that ‘turnt’ #fridayfeeling that’s trending on Twitter. I regularly listen to Hip Hop/Trap music whilst working as it helps me write about niche topics like hiring. Unfortunately, my game of ‘What did Young Thug just say?’ isn’t inspiring the usual creativity (it’s a great party game, btw). What am I searching for? Inspiration, the type that persuades you to try our awesome app.

This app has consumed all of my waking thoughts. The product is better than we dreamed it would be (don’t believe me, see for yourself). However after a year of pre-emptively bragging about how great the app will be, I’m fresh out of ideas on how to say just that. Do you know that feeling? I need to recharge. If you have found a (more) graceful way to work through it, let me know in the comments.

As a content marketer this is not the first time I have felt this way, and for many CEO’s, founders, and marketers; there might be times you enter the dreaded trough of sorrow. I’m now running on a low battery when it comes to promoting the app which is launching soon. Let me be clear, this is not to be confused with being bored with your product.

Quick Boosts

Our move to WeWork Moorgate has helped foster some creativity. However, it’s not sustainable to keep moving offices because of writers block. As I lounge about on the 5th floor sipping fruit infused water and daydreaming about what my life would be like as a Trap Queen; I have written the beginnings of at least five articles (Yay?!). I’ve got the makings of a more sustainable plan to maintain my inspiration, creativity and motivation. Hopefully, it helps you too.

#CreativityGoals

Identifying the Pattern

In order to do this you need to be doing something you enjoy (preferably related to the task). Writing this article is my personal release, so it will be the example. This article is flowing freely and my thoughts feel seamless. During this ‘exercise’ I realised that I write best when I’m the following:

  1. Honest
  2. Selfish
  3. Uncensored

Now your lists might be different and that’s fine. As a writer and content producer day to day I cannot abide by these 3 things at all times especially when you have brand guidelines to follow.

Compromise (not your integrity)

I write about Nudj and the hiring industry at large and I’m going to need to tweak these since they influence what and how I write. The key is finding the balance between staying true to the things you care and maintaining the best interest of the company.

For example, I can be honest about how much I think our app Nudj will take recruitment agencies out of business and do away with CV-led hiring in one easy to use a mobile app. I can also be selfish with my shameless plugging of the product because I believe in Nudj. Finally, I can be uncensored when I talk about how job boards and Linkedin are failing employers in the war for top talent.

What if compromising stunts your creativity

I’m currently working through this personally. What has been successful so far, is only writing about something else that you care about outside of your company or product. It’s okay to be excited and simultaneously uninspired by your product or industry if it’s all you do day in day out. Just have a full blown rant on your personal blog/ Medium or diary.

Start with the why?

Thank Simon Sinek for this gem! Not every article you write will need to be read by everybody. I have written articles for the sole purpose of improving our SEO and to increase brand awareness (selfish). The proof is in the analytics, we got very little traffic from those articles our rankings did improve though. However, my article on diversity in tech, did quite well, why? I honestly care about diversity and wanted to help the readers achieve a diverse workplace.

Be aware of What’s in it for me (WIFM)

People only care about what’s in it for them. If your product is truly excellent and is going to change lives then you are going to need to identify why they should care. Watch Simon’s Ted talk again it’s a great way to re-prioritise what you’re doing.

Do you know someone who’s got a touch of writers block or growing a company and losing momentum? Send this to them if not for the rambling then surely for these kids killing the Whip and Nae Nae.

Happy Friday!

--

--