The Launch to NASA

Christina Smithers
#TechMasters
Published in
3 min readJul 9, 2017

It was a sunny day in spring when I received a call from Houston. The number was not one I recognized, so the call was sent to voicemail. Moments later, a transcription of the voicemail drew my interest. It was a recruiter from NASA.

SF?%!SSpace Shuttle Atlantis Lifts Off From Launch Pad at Kennedy Space Center. Courtesy of NASA

The process began when I received news of my significant other heading to Los Angeles for the continuation of their career training. My experience level is that of a junior-level programmer. Typically, it is competitive for those at my phase in their career. It was prudent to search for employment in the area on time for my moving there. I began by getting a Google Voice number that forwarded to my cell phone to localize myself before relocation. I scoured through many resources such as Indeed.com and LinkedIn. There was a posting for a Python developer, a programming language I use and enjoy, and submitted my resume.

Some time went by after the application, and the prospects were not looking optimal. One day, I received the phone call from Houston that sent me on this path. I spoke to several team members and managers. I learned more details of what I was going to work with potentially. Python packages were studied. I brainstormed potential Python projects I can do that would have a NASA theme, such as a program recording comet observations. After a phone interview, I was nervous about the outcome, but felt positive about it. Later on, I got the results. I was being considered for an internship if I was interested. There was no doubt in mind of my interest. It was an opportunity to work in a place that was a dream for me.

Another conversation followed with the team that I would be working with. It was interesting to hear how a developer’s insight would help NASA accomplish their projects. Every time my phone would ring, my heart would race.

One might compare interviewing experience to that of dating. Some give initial impressions that are interesting, others intense, some with other descriptions. To me, interviewing with NASA can be considered a “date” to remember, and has always been desired. As a person who has a learning disability, being able to have discussions with NASA team members was something I dreamed of, but never imagined could come true.

The results came in. I got the offer to join the team as an intern. My instincts told me to go for this. Logic told me it could be risky since I would be moving out of state for something that might be only temporary. After time, deliberation, and getting the thoughts of those in the TechMasters community, it was decided; I would follow this dream. I got the support of fellow programmers in my various communities and prepared for a new era.

Some more time went by and the paperwork I was expected to turn in needed to happen soon. After those steps were completed, I finally arrived in California after a very long day of driving with my dog and a family member. The beginning of the adventure was filled with thrills from extreme Las Vegas heat to landing a place to live for the next few months.

The first day of this journey starts next week. To quote Peter Schilling in the famous song, Major Tom, “the countdown starts.”

--

--

Christina Smithers
#TechMasters

Programming seito, lover of learning , dog parent, and former NASA adventurer