Learning with Chat GPT for web dev bootcamp

My experience so far with Chat GPT while learning how to code

Luke Chen
Dev Journey
2 min readMar 19, 2023

--

During the pre-work of the bootcamp I joined, I was asked to go through several light-weight self-paced learning modules regarding HTML, CSS and Javascript. The lessons are very basic and funny thing is, during my time of going through the module, Chat GPT hit the world and people started making use of it, and I said to myself…

Yeah…I am learning coding now and I always find it cumbersome go through documentations...so can Chat GPT do some about it?

And yes, I use Chat GPT during my pre-work as my co-pilot (or more like a tutor). And here are my usages

Short version of explanation of syntax or function.

As a novice dev, it’s essential to read documentation but I want to save time reading, and Chat GPT come in handy for that.

Compare two different ways of solving the same problem and explain the differences to me.

Again, as novice, due to my limited knowledge, often I can only come up with a way to solve a problem but I want to know another possibilities so that I can learn more.

Debug a piece of code.

Sometimes the code just has a simple typo and I am historically bad at typing so if any errors occurred, Chat GPT can easily catch those.

Instruction on how to achieve a certain thing.

Instead of asking Chat GPT to spit out the code and directly use it, I mainly ask Chat GPT to provide me with description of “how” to achieve certain thing since I am still learning how to code and I still really enjoy my own problem-solving journey.

Final thought

  1. I don’t 100% trust what Chat GPT gave me but instead, I google again and cross check if what it spit out does make sense.
  2. I don’t copy/ use the code straight from Chat GPT. I sample some pieces of code, learn the concept and later code it the way I like with my own hand :). I don’t want Chat GPT to take away my learning process as type will help engraind those knowledge in my brain :).

Extra resources

--

--