Apple’s new Documents and desktop folder syncing to iCloud is this close to reaching my file server needs.

Erik Peterman
Tech: News, and Opinions
3 min readJul 1, 2016

--

So, I briefly skimmed by the topic of how I wanted to run a file server a couple of posts ago when I talked about why a refreshed Mac Mini is important, but to make it more clear, I run a file server from my Mac so that I can access all of my documents on my iPad. This way, the documents are backed up to all of my Mac sources, stored on my Mac hard drive, but still available where I work (my iPad).

At WWDC 2016, Apple unveiled that a feature of macOS Sierra would be file syncing of the “Desktop” and “Documents” directories to iCloud Drive. This is really cool, and I will definitely get a lot of use out of it. It makes sense, too, since people’s default “I’m working on this right now” directory is the desktop (normal people don’t think about saving to the cloud always) and most people store their documents for long term in the Documents folder, because that’s what it’s named.

So, for me, this easily replaces the need for a file server, since it syncs the directories I’m already sharing with my file server. There’s only one problem: storage space.

iCloud Drive still only offers a free 5GB, which makes plenty of users pretty upset, and any additional storage comes with a monthly fee. And storage caps at 1TB. This is enough for me for a while (since I don’t share my iTunes media via a file server) but won’t be nearly enough for many other people. There’s been a lot of digital ink spilled on Apple cheaping out on cloud storage space, so I don’t want to drone on about it, but I do think there’s an easy solution here that would make sense for Apple.

It’s called the Mac.

So, Apple is a hardware company. That’s not really up for debate. And Apple’s main computer is the Mac, which is still showing sales growth. So, for file syncing (which was specifically introduced as file syncing by Craig at WWDC) Apple could sync any files stored in the Desktop and Documents directories to iCloud without charging it against the iCloud Drive storage space. Essentially: if it fits on your Mac, it’s available everywhere. The files are stored on the Mac, but iCloud acts as a file server intermediary to show and allow access to the files on other devices.

Why would this work? If this gets properly explained to buyers, you better bet that they’re going to sell Macs with bigger hard drives inside, meaning that they’ll make more money on Mac hardware. Also, people who are using iOS only may consider buying a Mac just to avoid monthly iCloud Drive payments (or to exceed the 1TB iCloud. Drive storage limit).

There is also precedent for specific things not taking up iCloud Drive space in the past. Prior to iOS 9, any file generated by an Apple app didn’t count against the 5GB storage limit. So Apple are willing to do something like that.

The biggest problem I could see is people buying cheap external hard drives and tricking the system into thinking that’s the Mac hard drive, thus not making additional money for Apple, but using up additional iCloud server space. There’s probably a workaround to this, though.

I’m pretty sure this won’t happen, though. Based on recent moves, I think Apple values itself a services company, and would rather take $5 a month for more iCloud storage (perceivably forever) than an additional $200 upfront on a Mac purchase for extra hard drive space. And you know what? I’ll probably pay for it anyway. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

--

--

Erik Peterman
Tech: News, and Opinions

University student, engineer, blogger, audiophile, lacrosse player, wikipedia author, headphone addict, aspiring vlogger.