Ergodox EZ Review — Thoughts after 3 months of regular use

Félix Paradis
Tech Reviews
Published in
7 min readMay 28, 2019

--

Like many others, physical pain is what drove me towards the Ergodox EZ. That nagging pain point under my right shoulder blade at merely 27 years old… I had to do something about it, or change job.

In the world of ergonomic keyboards, Ergodox EZ seemed like a top notch option, so I winced a little and did what I never thought I’d do: spend 550$CAD on a keyboard. (That price includes the tenting kit, the wrists rests and glowing LEDs. More on those later.)

(psst! I also wrote a review of the Dygma Raise, a review of the Zergotech Freedom and a review of the Lily58 Pro.)

TLDR

The Ergodox is obviously not for everyone, but it will introduce you to so many features you don’t find in regular keyboards that I have to recommend it; even if the Ergodox is not exactly what you need, it will make you know what you need. By using that keyboard, you get to know whether or not you like having:

  • A split design
  • An ortholinear layout
  • Mechanical switches (Which are hot swappable, by the way)
  • Dual function keys
  • Multiple layers
  • Highly customizable RGB

--

--

Félix Paradis
Tech Reviews

Web Developer writing about the web, mostly. Find my other stuff over at www.felixparadis.com