Tech reading 24/06/17

Shane Dillon
Tech weekend reads
Published in
2 min readJun 24, 2017
Gabriel cinema, Dachauer straße, Munich.

This tech reading list comes to you from Munich. Let’s crack on with some tech reading. First up an article from the BBC Academy introducing a podcast about ‘Dark Social’ which is I remind myself is places were content is shared on; Email, SMS, messaging apps like WhatsApp, Facebook Messenger, Snapchat and Slack. The article from the academy is about; ‘Following your audience on ‘dark social’ (21/06/17)

As a film fan Munich sprung a happy coincidence. I arrive then the Munich Film Festival starts. Luckily I have an article bringing together my interests in tech and films. This one is from Real Life magazine is titled; ‘Web of Lies; Why do films so routinely misunderstand the internet?’ (Jake Pitre, 19/06/17) His article name checks a few films but thankfully one of my favourite films of 2016 receives positive mention for its depiction of social media on the big screen.

I admit the provocative title grabbed my attention ‘Snapchat is a toy’ (Todd Meisner, 22/07/17) That Snapchat is a toy does not bother me, toys can be fun at any age. The hardware extension of Snapchat, Spectacles are just a fun and disposable toy. Todd’s article at it’s heart is a cry in the dark about the lack of metrics marketeers can get from Snapchat as opposed to Instagram.

--

--

Shane Dillon
Tech weekend reads

Passion for films with a sprinkling of tech, social media and sport.