Interview with Carey Nachenberg

Sai Atmakuri
tech@ucla
Published in
3 min readApr 12, 2018
Carey Nachenberg (Image credits: Hannah Ye/Daily Bruin)

One of UCLA’s most eccentric and endearing Computer Science professors is Carey Nachenberg. Though currently the Chief Scientist for Chronicle, a company out of X (Alphabet’s moonshot factory), Professor Carey is most well-known by UCLA students for being the Adjunct Professor for the undergraduate course CS 32 (Introduction to Computer Science II) every winter quarter.

Carey Nachenberg did his B.S. and M.S. from UCLA, after which he joined Symantec, where he eventually became a Fellow and the chief engineer. During his time, he co-invented Norton Antivirus and was responsible for Symantec’s core security engines and security analytics. He later moved on to X, the moonshot factory.

With a love for teaching, Professor Carey strives to make his class engaging and really cares for his students. He’s also known for his in-class antics, like giving away food each lecture and telling fascinating stories. Thus, we reached out to Professor Carey and he graciously agreed for an interview. Here’s the interview:

CN: Professor Carey Nachenberg, SA: Sai Atmakuri

SA: Thank you for taking time out of your day for the interview!

CN: Of course, it’s my pleasure!

SA: What motivates you to come down every year and teach the CS 32 class? How did you become a professor at UCLA?

CN: Well, I first discovered my love for teaching in college. One of friends wanted to learn how to program and he asked for my help. After teaching him, I found that I really enjoyed and it was something I wanted to do normally.

Once I graduated, I taught C at Learning Tree for a year and a half. Then in 2000, a lecturer at UCLA joined Symantec. He told me that I could apply to teach an undergraduate course and gave me an application. I filled it out and didn’t hear anything for a year. Next fall, I got a call and that’s how I got started.

SA: Everybody knows about your hobby for rock climbing. When did you actually start rock climbing?

CN: One of my college friends, in fact the same one who asked to be tutored, convinced me to rock climb with him, probably my 3rd year. I took one class indoor and immediately loved it. For the next two years, I went out every weekend to different places around Los Angeles. Now, I still go and occasionally take you guys out with me on my trips!

SA: Another thing that you talk about a lot is your book, The Florentine Deception. Why’d you decide to write a book and how was that process?

CN: During high school and college, all the required readings made me lose interest for reading. It wasn’t until six years after college, I got back into reading books. After a reading a lot of them, I realized that many books weren’t that good. I felt that I could do better and then one day, I randomly started writing. I’d sit down for a couple hours at a time and just write. Sometimes, I didn’t have any good ideas and I’d just take a break — it was a week at times and three to six other times. I even threw away chapters that I didn’t like and rewrote a lot. Finally, I finished in 2015.

SA: What are some other things you do in your free time? Like TV or something?

CN: Well, I keep up with Blackish and Fresh off the Boat on ABC. I also occasionally watch Shark Tank. Recently, I started watching Stranger Things too. I really like the 80s references.

SA: What are some other things you’d like to share?

CN: There are three principles I try to live by: Be happy. Help others. And be authentic.

I try my best to fulfill each and teaching here helps me fulfill those principles.

SA: Thank you once again for your time. On an ending note, is there anything you want to say to your past/incoming students?

CN: Definitely! The thing that holds most people back is self doubt; and their potential is much greater. My goal is to make the most of their potential so that they can achieve their best.

Thanks for reading this post. For more such stories, follow Tech@UCLA.

--

--