Cracking open the "man tin"

Claire Bate
techburst
Published in
3 min readSep 20, 2017

Yesterday I was browsing through some postings on LinkedIn when I came across one from someone I know with this photo as the main image:

I've seen these before - in fact I bought one for my husband a few years ago to keep his record player spares and tools in as they were floating around the house and usually getting lost. It's saved an awful lot of time trying to find odd sets of very small screws and screwdrivers, headshell adjustment tools, spare needles and weights, trust me. We wouldn't be without it.

In this context though, it was a bit different - the "man tin" in question was the hints, tips and tricks of EMC and electromagnetics, being presented at a seminar. Attendees would get the chance to "crack open the Man tin" and look inside to learn about these things.

My first thought was "ok, as a woman engineer, would this include me? Would I be allowed to look in the tin?" I thought about replying or commenting but didn’t - I don’t think it was posted it with any bad intention. I’m also the sort that would think "yes, I’m going to pry the lid off (with a tin opener if necessary) and have a good look in there!" Unfortunately I’m busy on the day of the seminar otherwise I may well have signed up there and then. I’ve also known the person that posted the photo for a number of years. I wouldn’t class him as sexist. I think it was just a case of a misjudged choice of photo, which is a pity.

My second thought was "am I being oversensitive about this?" I've never been a great one from calling out every single instance of discriminating language I've experienced or something which other people may have taken offence at - I've been working in engineering too long and I've developed a combination of selective hearing, a thick skin and a range of suitable replies for anything which I think crosses the boundaries.

My final thought was "if I was a younger or newer female engineer looking to learn about EMC and had considered attending, would this put me off?" This was the question that troubled me most, because the answer was yes, it might. I'm the stubborn sort that would almost feel compelled to apply just to prove a point, but not everyone would. It could put deter people and at the moment, that's the last thing we need to be doing. Engineering as a whole is crying out for more people and EMC is no exception to this.

Would commenting on the title of the post helped? I'm not sure it would - it would have detracted from the main reason for the post, getting people along to the seminar. Although the intent wasn't there, I wonder if it will put people off. Maybe it will have the opposite effect and there will be someone out there who will see it and go to the event out of sheer determinedness to make a point that the content of the "tin" are for everyone. Although things are changing for the better and some organisations are working hard to improve discrimination and stereotyping, there is still some attitudes which are so ingrained it will be difficult to iron out quickly.

Could a better title and photo have been used? Yes, definitely. I'm sure an ordinary tool box would have done the job, or the contents of the average engineer's desk drawer (many of us are guilty about stashing useful bits of wire and tat for that one time we'll need it).

There is a line to be found between calling out blatant discriminatory actions, those which are designed to deter and prevent people from progressing and expanding their role or position, which should be stopped and prevented - and accidental or unintentional actions which, due to years of the culture that has built up will take reminders, guidance and a degree of patience with those who may need to be reminded, to thin this out of the engineering and technology community.

And that line may be a very fine one in some areas.

--

--

Claire Bate
techburst

I spend my working hours in the world of engineering (mostly EMC). I spend the hours in-between cooking, driving Fiats and playing music.