don’t tell anyone, but #metoo

Almitra Inocencio
techburst
Published in
1 min readOct 18, 2017

i‘m devastated but hopeful. i think many women would align with my sentiment. the weinstein stuff finally airing, drawing a ton of mainstream attention to the fact that women are incredibly disrespected in the workplace. it’s depressing, and something that shouldn’t happen. period.

the incredible amount of support and empathy pouring out on my facebook, twitter and instagram feeds is astounding. my close lady friends and professional connections have detailed encounters almost unfathomable, but when forced to recollect, absolutely real. and then i thought about my life and the horrendous things that have happened to me…

and then i found myself on linkedin. and saw business as usual.

interesting.

there is no question this sort of obscene behavior that women are experiencing, at work or not, is happening — from uber to google, and a hundred years preceding, this is reality. yet we’re still not taking it to the forefront of the workplace (or the social network that is tailored to such). a mild observation i’ve made leaves me questioning the underlying fear that comes along with formally reporting abuse. perhaps there’s a way to help solve this problem with the help of some nifty design solutions.

i’ve got the definery team working on some concepts… more to come, shortly.

--

--

Almitra Inocencio
techburst

VP, Design @ attentive.com, Co-founder @ definery.io - I specialize in the realization of 'things' across digital platforms.