Mary Keane-Dawson
techburst
Published in
2 min readOct 17, 2017

--

I find it so odd that when I have discussed female sexual harassment politics (and I want to stress I’ve rarely had these conversations until recently) with my male business friends, I frequently get this type of response – “Do you really believe he harassed all those women Mary? Maybe one or two, but all the rest of them? Pah! They’re just jumping on the band waggon…..”

“Jumping on the band waggon….” What the fuck is this about? Why do you dismiss these horror stories? Belittle the women who choose to share them? Do you really think we want to have our most private vile experiences discussed publicly? Do you really think it’s easy to name and shame these perpetrators?

Let me tell you something – it isn’t! I am filled with fear that if I ‘tell’ who’s sexually attacked me verbally and physically that it will still impact on my career – and this is my 30th year in media! Some of these men are still the most successful and powerful in my sector – they can still hurt me, my business, my reputation. Oh, and my self esteem, my feelings, my self-image. My mental health.

If a women tells you she’s being sexually harassed at work, by a colleague, a client or a collaborator – LISTEN UP AND DO THE RIGHT THING. Don’t ignore it, think it’s not your problem and hope it will go away. It truly won’t- it will always remain with that woman as hurt, anger, frustration and possibly self-hatred. She’s not to blame – so don’t let her blame herself.

#MeToo

--

--

Mary Keane-Dawson
techburst

London based Digerati - passionate about helping unlock potential through performance media comments are my own