Ever Been Put In A Rear-Naked Chokehold?

3 Life Principles That Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu Can Teach You

Anthony Holloway
TechDirtyWithMe
5 min readMar 16, 2018

--

Credit

The essence of Jiu-Jitsu is to use the least force to the greatest effect. In the field of business, this principle means productivity, in life it means happiness.

Thanks to my buddy Vivek Nair over at Twilio, I was able to participate in an introductory Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu class last Sunday.

I’ve been wanting to take a class like this for over a year, and I finally got my shot! There’s something special to be said about being put into a Rear Naked Chokehold on a Sunday evening.

It’ll change your life.

Before I dive deeper…

Huge thank you to Aayush and Ankush over at FOUR Elements Fitness. 🙏 I appreciate your patience and elegant teaching style.

So happy I stumbled across your class!

Martial Arts has fascinated me ever since I watched Bruce Lee & Kareem Abdul Jabbar face off side by side!

I wasn’t as dope as this kid. But I was fascinated nonetheless!

Primarily because of the discipline, dedication and grit it takes to be a serious practitioner of theMartial Arts.

Disclaimer: I’m not a doctor or physician. Don’t get so inspired that you go out and get your shit pushed back. This is a serious sport. Tread lightly.

I simply want to motivate you with the Life Lessons I learned from my Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu Adventure.

Here were my top 3 discoveries…

Empty Your Cup. Assume You Know NOTHING.

In the book Apprenticeship Patterns, authors Dave Hoover & Adewale Oshineye dive deep into what it takes to have consistent career growth as a software developer.

Ultimately, they reveal disciplines that can help you make the best of both your life and your career.

But how does that relate to Jiu-Jitsu Anthony? Where are the chokeholds you promised?!

Here’s how…

There’s a section in the book called Emptying The Cup.

Once upon a time, a young Philosopher visited a Zen Master.

As the Zen Master started to explain his practices in mindfullness, meditation and spirituality, the Philosopher would cut him off.

“Yes, I understand what you are talking about! We did a similar technique at the temple, but instead we used images to focus!”

After being cut off several times, the Zen Master invited the Philosopher in for tea. What followed was a lesson in humility.

The Zen Master kept pouring tea until the cup was full to the brim.

Then he kept pouring even after it started to overflow.

He only stopped when the Philosopher finally said,

“Stop pouring! Can’t you see the cup is already full and overflowing?”

Then the Zen Master replied…

“If you come to me with a cup that is already full, how can you expect me to give you something to drink?”

After being put into that first chokehold, I kept repeating this to myself…

EMPTY. YOUR. CUP.

It’s the only way to succeed in Martial Arts, and the same can be said about life. Approach every interaction as if you know NOTHING!

You stand to gain EVERYTHING if you do.

Take It Easy And Trust The Process

A black belt is a white belt who never gave up — Consistency counts much more than talent in the long run.

After learning the Rear Naked Chokehold and realizing that I needed to EMPTY MY CUP, we learned how to do an Arm Bar.

Here’s what that looks like.

I’ve seen Ronda Rousey snap someone’s whole entire shit with a well executed Arm Bar. Needless to say, I was excited to give it a try.

Even after trying to Empty My Cup, my arrogance and naivety came out.

I was moving WAY TOO FAST. Instead of taking my time and executing each part of the movement correctly.

After slowing down though, my Arm Bar improved IMMEDIATELY.

Don’t Try This At Home. Seriously.

And what’s most fascinating about Jiu-Jitsu is that it’s SO APPLICABLE.

Think about it.

Most street fights, bar fights etc. END UP ON THE GROUND.

And the ground game is Jiu-Jitsu’s bread and butter.

It’s where you have the most advantage. The most leverage.

What this exercise in patience also taught me was that there’s no replacement for discipline.

We oftentimes underestimate how much consistency contributes to our results. Discipline Scales!

Trying to do something faster often times doesn’t lead to faster results.

And in sports not practicing discipline and patience could lead to hurting yourself, or worse, hurting others!

Come to Oakland and consider checking out the intro Jiu-Jitsu class at FOUR Elements. You won’t regret it!

I’ll be there this Sunday 😎

Leverage Purpose, Or You’ll Always Find An Excuse Not To Exercise

Diet & exercise this, stay active that.

Let’s be real, we all know that we should exercise.

We’ve been hearing it since blue mats & gym class.

We know that being active can improve our productivity, our sex life, sharpen our memory and even enhance creativity!

Yet a recent study from the CDC revealed that…

31.4% of American adults over 20 years old were considered obese! This figure was only 19.4% in 1997.

What The 22nd Century Might Look Like

America is OBESE. Those are the facts.

But if we know what’s good for us, why don’t most of us do it?

Because we lack PURPOSE.

I really want everyone to try Jiu-Jitsu at some point. But if you don’t have a STRONG PURPOSE for exercise in your life, it’ll never become a priority!

  • Do you not want to be out of breathe when you play with your kids?
  • Do you want more confidence for dates? Or to get that promotion?
  • Or to just feel sexier for your spouse?

Whatever it is, cut the shit and be real with yourself.

Discipline and patience are cornerstones, but purpose is foundational.

Let that be food for thought 🍳💡!

Jiu-Jitsu not quite for you? That’s cool.

Subscribe to Tech Dirty With Me instead. 😎🔥🔥

Guaranteed weekly nuggets of wisdom, tech, and culture!

No Arm Bars required! What are you waiting for?

WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR? -Credit

--

--

Anthony Holloway
TechDirtyWithMe

Recruiter. Coach. Chief Editor of @TechDirtyWithMe. altMBA Alumni. StartingBloc Fellow. Math Geek. Foodie.