ROAD TO ANDROID DEVELOPER-Season 1-Java: INTRO

Tharani balan SK
3 min readAug 23, 2023

--

Hi all, I hope you guys are doing good :) Its been a really long time ever since I posted my last article, Well….forgive my laziness…No no not laziness, It was just because I had got nothing to write about all these days as nothing significant had happened but why now? well...you see I completed my undergraduate degree some two months back and started learning android app development to further progress in my career.So…I got an idea Why not make a series on android development as and when I learn many new stuffs in this area?

That’s why I am here today with this brand new series and I hope to post regularly each week from here on out. So well Android development…does it really need an intro? lol !! If you really need one, just unlock your phone and there you go, you have got a lot of apps on them and only god knows how many of them are really used by you regularly and how many of them are waiting for you for over more than 6 months so that you would atleast take a look at them and as a matter of fact even your gf doesn’t wait for you so long XD

SRC : https://blog.google/products/android/

Google says,

“Android development is a form of software engineering dedicated specifically to creating applications for devices that run on the Android platform.”

The official IDE (Integrated Development Environment) for Android development is the Android Studio and the popular programming languages used for it are…Well…tbh there are many but the most popular one is the “Java” however, “ Kotlin” has emerged a popular choice for developers for its ease of use. In this series I will stick with Java as I am not familiar with Kotlin yet maybe If I happen to learn it in the future, I will write separate articles for it.

SRC : https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Java_%28programming_language%29

I am planning to divide this series into two seasons with the first one covering the Java programming concepts (not in depth just the concepts that are more specifically used for android development) and the second(probably a longer one) on how to develop apps on android studio using Java.

Java is an Object Oriented and High level programming language and it is widely used for building applications for mobile, desktops,laptops etc.

Let’s end this intro with a basic Hello world program (the only code every coder is well versed in, in every programming language he/she has learned)

public class helloWorld{
public static void main(String[] args){

System.out.println("Hello world!!");

}
}

Since Java is an Object Oriented language, it consists of classes for achieving encapsulation and other stuffs which we will be seeing in the upcoming articles. The compiler starts reading from the main method i.e. from

public static void main(String[] args)

Then the system.out.println method is used to print stuffs.This is the basic hello world code in java, we will see how each keyword in the above code works and many other concepts in the future blogs.

See you all again next week, Goodbye!!

Incase of any queries, reach out to me on,
Email : sktharanibalan@gmail.com
Instagram : name_is_tharani_

Disclaimer : The technical stuffs I am mentioning in this series might be factually wrong at some places or it might be short on content so I would recommend to read my stuff just as a refresher or for getting started as a beginner. For more detailed stuff follow other sites out there on the internet. Thank you

--

--

Tharani balan SK

programmer, App developer,Writer and Cybersecurity enthusiast