“What I Wish I Knew About Professional Programming 10 Years Ago”: Discussion with Mel Reams

Kate Shepherd
YYJ Tech Ladies

--

They say that hindsight is 20/20, and for good reason — most of us have at some point looked back and wished that we could impart a bit of hard-earned wisdom on our past selves. For our first event of 2018, we’re offering the next best thing, as developer Mel Reams pays some of her own knowledge forward at, “What I Wish I Knew about Professional Programming 10 Years Ago”.

Currently at Referral Saasquatch, Mel has worked as a backend developer for over a decade, with contracts with the US military, the provincial government, and a games studio on her resumé. Tomorrow night’s event will give women the chance to learn from her experiences, and from each other, during an evening of discussion.

“I’m going to be talking about what I’ve learned on the job as a developer,” Mel says. “I’m aiming for attendees to come away with some handy tricks for avoiding mistakes I’ve made and a better understanding of what’s really important as a professional developer (hint: it’s not actually the code).”

Attendees can expect an open and honest conversation about challenges and lessons learned over the course of Mel’s career in tech, and a chance to share their own stories in a welcoming, participatory environment. We hope you’ll join us!

While this event is now sold out, there is a waitlist available. Or, you can head to the YYJ Tech Ladies Eventbrite page to register for more upcoming events!

--

--