M1 Macbook Air as an Entry-Level Machine Into the World of Apple Laptops?

Is it a suitable machine, or is there a better one?

Jakub Jirak
TechLife
4 min readNov 29, 2022

--

Photo by Sebastian Bednarek on Unsplash

It’s been two years since Apple showed us its MacBook Air with the M1 chip, which, while it already has a successor, is still in the company’s lineup. But is it a suitable entry laptop into the macOS world, and will this machine defend its current price tag?

It still amazes me that for how huge Apple is as a company, its portfolio is relatively small. Rather than bringing out a larger variety of products of their different capabilities and features, what we see is that the portfolio overlaps in various ways and has minimal differences (see iPhone 13/14, 10th generation iPad/iPad Air 5th generation, etc.).

This June, at the WWDC22 event, the company introduced the M2 MacBook Air, a successor to the now two-year-old model that takes design language from the 14 and 16" MacBook Pros but boosts its performance just by implementing a next-generation chip.

But Apple has set its price above the M1 MacBook Air, which thus remained in the lineup and didn’t drop out (which was originally expected).

Which model is the better value?

Apple currently has two machines that we can consider entry-level devices in the macOS world. The most affordable is the Mac mini, but it’s limited in that if you have to add peripherals to it, you’ll paradoxically still be above the price of the M1 MacBook Air.

But does it still make sense to go for it or aim higher? We’re not going to address how much of a power user you are right now or if this is the computer for you. Let’s consider that you’re considering it. If we’re counting the difference from the M2 MacBook Air, that is. What can you get from Apple for that difference?

Like the 2nd generation AirPods Pro, otherwise just add-ons, now let’s put the M1 MacBook Air and the 2nd generation AirPods Pro on one side of the scale and the M2 MacBook Air on the other. On which side will more value be present?

Investing in the future

Personally, I believe that the M1 is enough for the average user. I have been working in Mac mini for over a year now, and I know that I will be quiet for another few years without difficulty. It’s just that this chip has been with us for two years now when it also has its successor.

If I were currently not necessarily in a situation of needing a new machine, I would probably reach for a Macbook Air with M2 but I would think about the need to pay extra for a larger drive, too, through the limitation created by occupying only one drive slot. Or I would wait until spring for whatever new Apple comes up with.

Conclusion

The M1 MacBook Air is a great entry model into Apple computers. It will keep up with you all day and have the performance to spare. The fact that it is a machine that has been around for two years and has an older design than its successor is not a problem, but at least you will save money on, for example, expanding the ram or disk or buying the basic model and saving more.

In my case, I would choose at least the ram expansion, as it is a necessity for me for work. From a developer and application/load perspective, I give my machines a minimum of 16GB, something to live with 32GB and an optimum 64GB ram.

Some might argue that I’m overdoing it with the RAM capacity, but the moment you use various dockers, build projects, use ramdisk, etc., the ram is never quite enough. Although I optimise my projects so they don’t use too much memory and I keep an eye on memory leaks, the machines with 64GB ram allow me to work without any limitations.

Tip for the end

I expect Apple to introduce another device with the M2 chipset in the spring of 2023. So save up some money before then, and if you need to get a new machine, don’t be afraid of a device with the M1, M1 Pro or M1 Max.

The M1 Ultra is only worth it when it comes to a work machine where you give it the work it deserves. I see myself as very likely to get either a Mac Studio with M1 Max or a MacBook Pro with M1 Pro that was given the same cooling design.

I’d opt for the 16" variant. More robust cooling will allow the MacBook to be in passive/inaudible cooling mode for longer, although to hear the fans on the Mx chipset, you have to try your damnedest.

Previously with a 2017 MacBook Pro 15", I could last about 2 hours on battery while working, so forgetting the power brick meant big problems with Apple Silicon. You can last even under heavy load all day and still have the battery for the next day.

Thank you for reading this article! If you enjoyed it, please leave me 👏🏻 and follow me for more content like this! 😊👍

--

--

Jakub Jirak
TechLife

Content creator | Cat dad | Writing about Technology, Apple, and Innovations. | Proud editor of Mac O'Clock. | Support me at https://ko-fi.com/jakubjirak