Smart Doorbell From Google: 5 Benefits and 2 Drawbacks 1 Year Later

Nest Doorbell is sending me spider pics; otherwise, it’s a great piece of hardware. If you don’t have a smart doorbell yet, I will give you five reasons why you should buy it and two reasons why you shouldn’t.

Ondrej Svoboda
TechLife

--

Smart doorbell as envisioned by artificial intelligence. AI-generated image via Midjourney by Ondrej Svoboda

I have a lot of smart devices at home. My lights are automated to some extent, my washing machine sends me a push notification when it runs out of detergent, and my wife lights up the light strip in my working room green when the food is ready. I am close to starting to salivate when seeing the green light involuntarily.

When I moved to a new house and finished the fence and entry gate, I started looking for the smart doorbell I could put there.

There are multiple options, with Ring being quite common. But as I have many devices from Google at home, I chose an older Nest Doorbell (wired) version, and I don't regret it.

--

--

Ondrej Svoboda
TechLife

Smart home enthusiast, Team leader in IT, Technophile, Proud parent, Improv practitioner, Latent filmmaker and magician, Multipotentialite