What Kind of Work Computer Will You Get in 2023 worth $2900

Hopefully, you won’t be as surprised as I was

Jakub Jirak
TechLife
4 min readApr 8, 2023

--

Photo by Devon Janse van Rensburg on Unsplash

There was a time recently when I was forced by one of my clients to switch to the client’s MacBook so that our collaboration could continue, as I would otherwise not have access to data from the internal network.

So I entered a ticket in the client’s internal system and waited 23 days for it to be resolved, culminating in receiving a MacBook Pro 2019 in a sorry state. Not only was this MacBook virtually unprepared for work, and I had to complete all the installations and setup to even log into this very limited machine, but first, I had to get rid of the dirt.

Cleaning the machine

First of all, it must be noted that I don’t mind extra that I didn’t get a brand new machine as is the custom with employees. Still, I did get a used machine which, if it were really in the announced good shape, I wouldn’t have minded, but I guess I was unlucky on the piece as I got a machine stained with some sauces or even blood?!

Apple MacBook Pro from client full of dust | Photo courtesy of the author (part of cleaning)

The machine itself bears several dents and punched-out parts on its aluminium body. The charger taken out of the pot was all scratched and dirty, not to mention the ugly yellowed cable. The saddest part of the whole thing is that the machine was also full of dust, so it had to be cleaned inside to even partially cool it.

Noise

Unfortunately, it is impossible to work with such a MacBook typically. It is a noisy beast. Yes, I may have gotten used to working with Apple silicon that you don’t even know about or some light switched on in me telling me why I should work on a device I don’t want to work with. But the noise is horrible. I would even say that when working 8hrs/day on a project, I have never been happier when I turn off the device.

Conclusion

As you may have noticed, I’ve reduced my activity around writing a bit now. This is partly related to the fact that after working with this machine “all day”, I don’t want to be at the computer anymore. I disappear away as soon as I can.

To clear my head, working all day next to a vacuum cleaner is no honey. I used to have a similarly designed MacBook from 2017, but only with an i7, so maybe the body was better for that to keep it cool, but I don’t remember that MacBook triggering me as much as this one.

In any case, it’s a clear signal to me that the client is not interested in continuing to work with me when he sends someone a vacuum cleaner at a supposed value of $2900 to do a job. Yet, even Apple is offering a maximum of $645 for this machine in its buy-back program, and other shops have not offered more than $1000 given the condition.

So if you get a machine from a client or an employer that is supposed to be in good shape and will not match that condition, I wouldn’t let it go either because you don’t want to have material liability on something that is not up to valuation.

Unfortunately, I will not share pictures of the machine with you as it is branded and would put a target on the back of a particular client, which I don’t want to do.

Thank you for taking the time to read this article! If you enjoyed it, I appreciate your support through likes 👏🏻 and comments 💬. And if you want more content like this, don’t forget to follow me! Cheers 😊👌👋

Please consider direct support of my work: https://ko-fi.com/jakubjirak

--

--

Jakub Jirak
TechLife

Content creator | Cat dad | Writing about Technology, Apple, and Innovations. | Proud editor of Mac O'Clock. | Support me at https://ko-fi.com/jakubjirak