10 Years of Freelancing: What I Learned

Gyan R. Biswal
SYNERGY
Published in
6 min readJul 28, 2022

It’s been 10 years since I first started freelancing. In that time, I’ve learned a lot about what works and what doesn’t when it comes to running a freelance business. In this post, I’m going to share with you the most important things I’ve learned over the past decade. If you’re thinking of starting your own freelance business, or if you’ve been freelancing for a while but aren’t seeing the results you want, then this post is for you!

Freelancing can be a great way to make money on the side or as a full-time career

When it comes to freelance work, there are a number of advantages that make it an appealing option for many people. For starters, freelancers have the freedom to choose their own hours and work from home, which can be a great perk for parents or anyone who doesn’t want to commute. In addition, freelancers usually have more control over the projects they take on and the clients they work with. And since they’re not tied to a traditional 9-to-5 job, they can often pick and choose the assignments that fit their skillset and interests. Of course, freelancing isn’t without its challenges. But for those who are willing to put in the effort, freelancing can be a great way to make money on the side or even turn it into a full-time career.

From Fiverr Dashboard

You need to learn new skills to beat the competition

I started freelancing soon after I graduated from college in 2012. Like many new freelancers, I was eager to get started and build a good reputation. However, I quickly realized that the competition was fierce.

Image Source: Canva

To stand out, I knew that I needed to learn new skills. I started by taking some online courses in WordPress and Digital Marketing. These courses helped me to improve my portfolio and attract more clients. Through my experiences as a freelancer, I have learned that you need to continuously learn new skills to stay ahead of the competition.

Work for less initially and ask for 5-star ratings

Screenshot from my Fiverr Dashboard

The most important thing I’ve learned is that you have to work for less initially and ask for 5-star ratings. It sounds counterintuitive, but it’s the best way to get work. Here’s why: when you work for less, you’re more likely to get hired because you’re a lower risk.

And when you get hired, be sure to ask for a 5-star rating. Why? Because ratings are everything on these freelancing platforms. The higher your rating, the more likely you are to get hired. And the more work you do, the higher your rating will be. So it’s a virtuous cycle.

Under promise over delivery to get a repeat client

When I first started freelancing, I was determined to make every client happy. I would over-deliver on every project, no matter what it took. And while my clients were pleased with the results, I quickly realized that this wasn’t sustainable. I was working long hours for very little pay, and I knew I had to make a change.

Now, I focus on under-promising and over-delivering. I tell my clients that I can deliver the project in a certain timeframe, and then I make sure to deliver it early. This has led to repeat clients, who know they can count on me to get the job done right. It may not be as glamorous as my old way of working, but it’s more sustainable!

Be active and respond immediately to new client messages

I quickly learned that being active and responsive was essential to success. Clients expect timely responses to their messages, and if you’re not available, they’ll simply move on to the next freelancer. Additionally, being active helps you build a good reputation and attract new clients. Because of this, I always make sure to respond to messages within a few hours, even if it’s just a brief acknowledgement. I’ve found that this simple practice has made a big difference in my business. Not only do I have a loyal clientele, but I also frequently receive referrals from satisfied customers.

Always follow up after project delivery and open for revision

As a freelancer, I’ve learned that it’s important to always follow up after delivering a project. This helps to ensure that the client is happy with the work and also allows you to address any concerns they may have. Additionally, I’ve found that it’s important to be open to revision. Even if a client doesn’t request any changes, there may be ways to improve the work. By being open to revision, you can ensure that the client is getting the best possible product.

Offer money-back guarantee

Image Source: Canva

One of the most important things I’ve learned is to offer a money-back guarantee. This ensures that clients are happy with the work I deliver, and it also helps to build trust. In addition, offering a money-back guarantee shows that I’m confident in my abilities and that I’m willing to stand behind my work. As a result, offering a money-back guarantee has become an essential part of my freelancing business.

Provide discounts for a long-term project

It’s always best to provide discounts for long-term projects. Not only does this build goodwill with clients, but it also helps to ensure a steady stream of work. In addition, I have also learned that it’s important to be flexible when it comes to pricing. If a client has a tight budget, I am always willing to negotiate to make the project work. As a result, I have been able to complete several freelance projects and build good relationships with clients.

Freelancing is inconsistent

Image Source: Canva

When I first started freelancing, I had no idea what to expect. I had heard that freelancing was a great way to make money, but I wasn’t sure if it was something that I could rely on. As it turns out, freelancing is quite inconsistent. Some months I would make a lot of money, and other months I would barely make enough to cover my expenses. The biggest lesson that I learned from freelancing is that you can never predict when work will dry up. It’s important to always be prepared for lean times by saving up money and diversifying your income sources. That way, if work does slow down, you won’t have to worry about how you’re going to make ends meet.

Build your website and social media to promote your service

When I first started freelancing, I didn’t have a lot of experience promoting my services. I relied on word-of-mouth and online directories to get my name out there. While this strategy worked to some extent, I quickly realized that I needed to do more to market myself if I wanted to attract new clients. That’s when I decided to build my website and create social media accounts dedicated to my freelance business. It was a lot of work, but it was worth it. Having my own online space allowed me to control the narrative around my work and reach a wider audience. It also made me look more professional and established, which helped me land better-paying projects.

Conclusion

Freelancing can be a great way to make money, but it’s also important to be aware of the challenges that come with it. In particular, freelancers need to be prepared for inconsistency and always be willing to market themselves. By following these tips, you can set yourself up for success as a freelancer. Thanks for reading!

--

--

Gyan R. Biswal
SYNERGY

I write about Freelancing, Virtual Assistant, Digital Marketing, Motivation, Life, Spiritual, Business, Gardening & Making Money Online. gyanbiswal10@gmail.com