1000 Articles Or 4 Books?

Every writer has to make a decision on this

H.K. Holland
SYNERGY
Published in
3 min readAug 13, 2021

--

It is not an easy thing to write a book. On the other hand, it is easy to write an article. Writing a book requires massive planning. Writing an article doesn’t require a lot of planning. I could be wrong on this though.

There are articles you read and you could see that the writer put in a lot of research, and there are articles you read and you see that the writer didn’t do any research. In most cases, those articles do not impact.

However, just because an article is a 10-minute read doesn’t mean the writer put in a lot of research. Sometimes, some writers ramble on without making a point.

I am not sure about other writers. But sometimes I have come to a point where I have to choose whether to write books or articles. Some writers are able to do both. But sometimes I find this double work. I have also seen some writers write blog posts or articles and they later turned those articles into chapters.

But I find this a problem. If I love what the writer says, chances are, I have read most of their articles. If the author writes the book and I find the same articles as chapters with minimum editing, do you think I will read that chapter? I find this a challenge. Unless maybe that chapter is an expansion of the articles. But most…

--

--