Language and Writing Essays

3 Subtle Signs Your Medium Story's Great In Some Way

Check this once in a while

Shashi Sastry
SYNERGY
Published in
3 min readFeb 27, 2024

--

Image made by the author in SketchWow

I don't need to tell you the obvious indicators of a story's value — how much it earns you and how many claps and comments it gets. Instead, I'll tell you what I noticed as three more nuanced things that signify a story's worth to me. They may apply singly or together to a post.

You use it yourself.

If you find yourself going back to your story to find something useful, it has broken free from you. It has a life of its own. You are a reader of it like anyone else. Someone else could have written it; you'd still find it relevant and valuable.

I find myself returning to some of my stories for something I need in my family life, work, or to teach someone something.

Here are three examples to give you an idea of this utility. You don't have to read them, although I'd be glad if you did as they were interesting or worthwhile for you. It's to illustrate how our stories can become helpful for us as an asset, reference, or record of some sort.

--

--

Shashi Sastry
SYNERGY

I am a prism, refracting the light of thought into a rainbow of content for you. Poetry, philosophy, architecture, and more. LESS STUFF, MORE VEG = A FUTURE.