3 Things To Do After Submitting A Job Application Online

That don’t involve refreshing your email

Savanna Jordan
SYNERGY
4 min readMar 6, 2021

--

Photo by Charlotte May from Pexels

I’m guilty of being overzealous when it comes to submitting job applications. There is one specific company, in my desired field, that I have been eager to work for, for years. Every so often, I pull out my phone, pop open their job board, and scroll to find a position that’s right for me. In the past, they had only ever posted positions for managing staff or high-level directors — with qualifications years beyond my current skill set.

Until, about a week ago.

My eyes lit up and in seconds I had my computer out; furiously editing my cover letter to fit the role description and submit my resume. I read and re-read my application several times, I proofread every detail down to the commas. I knew this application was perfect and I was perfect for the role. As I scanned the requirements one more time for good measure, I knew without a doubt that they were speaking directly about me.

So I submitted my work, sat back in my chair, and happily opened the auto-confirmation email from the company confirming they’d receive my information. And I waited.

And waited.

Rather than spending the next few days anxiously refreshing my email, and double-checking any missed calls, I decided to make a plan. The job market in today’s pandemic-stricken world is anything but stable and fearfully sitting on my hands while I wait for a call back is not efficient or productive. So what do you do when your application is sent, your resume is being (hopefully) reviewed by a non-robot, and you’re eager to hear back?

1. Look for other jobs

I know the role I applied for was perfect for me, my experience, and my skill set. Even still, there are many more steps between the day I submit an application, and the day I hopefully get an offer letter. Beyond that, there is always the likelihood that the company will move forward with an internal candidate or someone with more internal connections.

Rather than putting all of your energy into one position, at one specific company, always keep your options open. The job-hunt hustle is hard and stressful, but by continuing to network and keep up with job postings in your field, you will give yourself a much better chance of landing a new role.

2. Re-read the original job listing

Ensure you save and take notes for any applications you apply to online. This way, you’ll be much more prepared to answer any questions should you hear back within the next few weeks. It can be difficult keeping track of all the applications you send out while job-hunting and you never want to be caught mixing up roles; especially if, like me, you’re especially excited about a specific company or position.

Also, be sure to keep in mind the directions on the original job posting — Do they ask that you refrain from calling about updates? Is there a date the application officially closes? Did they provide contact information for the hiring recruiter?

The answers to these questions will greatly impact your next steps and plan of attack. My specific position stated that they would contact me with next steps, and would prefer candidates not reach out for follow-ups. So, I’ve respected this decision and instead will keep in mind when applications close, and check my application for updates.

3 . Update your social media presence and Linkedin page

Ideally, you would have already beefed up your Linkedin page and reevaluated your social media presence, before hitting send. But, if you have not yet had a chance to do so, take a look at your profiles. Do they accurately represent all of the skills and experience you have? Do they appropriately represent you to a potential employer?

Hiring managers will likely look you up on social media (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram) during their initial review of your application, so you want to make sure nothing you’ve posted is offensive or upsetting. As a good reminder, you can always restrict access to your social media pages to contacts-only, so unknown users cannot view your profiles.

Remember that your social media pages are the first reflection of you the hiring manager will see, outside of your initial application. At the end of the day, hiring managers want to feel like the people they are hiring, would be good coworkers. So you always want to leave a good impression and put your best foot forward.

While I am eager and excited at the possibility of working for my dream company, I know that nothing is guaranteed. Even if I do get the role, there is no promise that the work, or office culture will live up to my expectations. So, while I wait, I am giving myself every chance of still succeeding at another company — and who knows, that might even lead me to a role better suited for me.

Hitting ‘submit’ on your online application is just the beginning of the recruitment process. You have to be prepared to wow them should they choose to proceed with you, or be willing to pivot if the role goes to someone else. So, be kind to yourself, put your best foot forward, and lead with confidence.

--

--

Savanna Jordan
SYNERGY

A 20-something figuring out life in the suburbs