8 Impactful Memoirs to Read This Year

Catelyn Silapachai
SYNERGY
Published in
4 min readMar 9, 2023

--

Photo by Min An

Memoir is my favorite genre, so I’ve rounded up 8 of the best that I’ve read recently. These are powerful stories, lovingly and expertly told.

Solito by Javier Zamora

I was absolutely blown away by this memoir and could not recommend it more. Zamora writes about his two-month journey as an unaccompanied minor to the United States from El Salvador when he was 9 years old. Somehow he perfectly captures the voice of a young boy in his writing, even though he’s now in his 30s. It is masterfully written (prior to writing this memoir, Zamora was already an acclaimed poet). I am grateful to have received a free copy from Random House, but I would recommend checking it out in audible format as Zamora narrates his memoir (I wish all authors narrated their own books)!

I’ll Show Myself Out by Jessi Klein

I loved comedian Jessi Klein’s first memoir You’ll Grow Out of It, so I was thrilled to see she had written a second book. This one is a memoir about motherhood through the lens of Joseph Campbell’s hero’s journey, and it is hysterically funny. It is written for everyone, not just moms, and she addresses the literary pigeonholing and dismissing of content by and about mothers early on in the book.

Why Didn’t You Tell Me? by Carmen Rita Wong

--

--

Catelyn Silapachai
SYNERGY

I write about books, parenting, politics, and religion. I live in Austin, Texas with my husband, daughter, dogs, and plants.