Became my home, just to leave me homeless —

Just notes from my Iphone

Mariana Corrêa
SYNERGY
2 min readMay 15, 2024

--

You became my home, only to leave me homeless.
I gave you a gun for my protection,
But you pulled the trigger.
It seems you don’t even care.

I shared with you all my stories and my deepest fears,
You saw my tears, yet you kept moving forward.
I told you I was unaware of your feelings,
But you didn’t listen to what I was saying.

You asked me a thousand times to trust you at the start,
Yet when I needed you most, you vanished.
Now I stand alone,
No longer believing in anyone.

In the silence of abandonment, shadows murmur your once-sweet name,
A haunting echo of broken promises.
In the night’s embrace, I confront the brutal truth,
Your heart was never truly mine.

Through the shards of my shattered trust,
I see the world with clearer eyes.
In my darkest hour, you chose to leave,
And still, you are proud of yourself.

I prefer to stay as I am,
Feeling and loving deeply, expressing myself,
Asking, speaking, shouting, crying.
Unable to bear the sight of your tears,
For true love knows nothing, it only feels.

Amidst the ruins of broken promises, I refuse to stay.
You’ve lost me,
And though it saddens me for our shared dreams,
They understand — it was never my choice.

It never would be,
My people are never alone,
And that is my pride.

I would have made only a few adjustments if I had been informed,
That would have been enough to avoid it all.
It was so simple,
Yet, you are never wrong,
As if your inability to communicate wasn’t an issue.
You are too developed to make mistakes, this isn’t for you.

Now you’re just a stranger with familiar eyes,
A ghost that broke me inside.
I walk away, my heart finally wise,
To the truth that I was right from the beginning.

I didn’t want to be right,
I just wanted to be held,
And for your promise never to be broken,
That together we could solve everything.

You prefer to firmly follow your emotions.
In the end, I am the rational one, and you are all emotion.
From the start, you were led by your feelings, as at the end.
Initially, I followed my reason, I chose you, and in the end, I still chose you, for the exactly same reasons.

--

--

Mariana Corrêa
SYNERGY

Daily journey with Jesus, exploring the world, striving to be my best self, anxiety-free and protagonist of my life. I'm also a digital and privacy attorney.