Beyond the 100 Followers Milestone

Reflecting on Medium’s Changes and My Creative Journey

Ana Josovic
SYNERGY
3 min readAug 21, 2023

--

Image by the author, and the author in the image, with her beloved bicycle (2020)

I’ve noticed a trend circulating on Medium lately — the practice of celebrating your first 100 followers.
It took me 20 days of writing to reach that milestone myself.
I can certainly appreciate the excitement and significance behind it, but I think I’ll pass on this one since my emotions are a little bit mixed-up.

Let’s talk about passing along that excitement.
I’ve read numerous articles brimming with emotions of pride and honor, and they almost made me feel it too.
Having 100 followers on Medium meant that you could enter the Medium Partner Program (MPP) and start monetizing your writing, which is undoubtedly a reason to be happy.
Many individuals even left their 9–5 jobs to pursue writing on Medium full-time.

However, my excitement is somewhat tempered now.
I’m not entirely clear on the new rules of monetization, especially after seeing so many dissatisfied writers venting their frustrations.
A 70% or even 90% drop in earnings starting August 1st is no small matter, especially for those who depend on their Medium income to support their families.
But I suppose I’m not entirely surprised; this is often the trajectory for successful businesses once they achieve global recognition.

For me, I’m sticking around for the sheer enjoyment of it.
I’ve been writing my entire life, primarily through journaling and the occasional poem.
Only recently did I rediscover that spark.
I’ll keep writing for myself, my followers, and the future readers I hope to connect with.
Unfortunately, my country isn’t supported by Stripe or the Medium Partner Program, so I’m facing a double hurdle, and donations are my only option for support.

There are numerous reasons I’ll continue writing on Medium.

I want my words to find their readers, and writing serves as a soothing balm for my mind.
Moreover, I relish the process of research, sifting through various sources to shape a well-rounded thought.
I appreciate Medium for the wide array of article topics and the wealth of knowledge I can acquire here.
Thanks to fellow Medium writers, I’ve noticed subtle improvements in my writing style.
Who knows what the next year might bring?
The silver lining is that I’m beginning to grasp what resonates with readers and what they enjoy reading.

So, I’ll take this moment to express my gratitude to readers worldwide and to acknowledge the idea of the ‘100 followers club,’ even though it’s no longer as relevant.
I’m genuinely excited to see where this writing journey takes me, and I’m delighted to have you alongside me as a reader.

Wishing you all a fantastic week!

https://tenor.com/view/rainy-day-bird-anime-raining-weather-gif-17579486 by h3ady4ka

If you’d like to back me up and assist me in creating more stories like these, kindly think about giving me a tip.
This is the sole approach I have for monetization on Medium, as my country doesn’t meet the criteria for the Partner Program.
When you support me, you’re also championing the upcoming ideas I’m sharing with you at no cost — all of which stem from the knowledge I’ve gathered over the years.

You can tip me using the button next to the subscription or clicking the link below.

Click here to donate

Thank you!

--

--

Ana Josovic
SYNERGY

Visual artist, writer and space explorer. with a profound love for psychology and astrology. ✨ https://eruanne.gumroad.com/