Can I Make Money Online Writing About Something Other Than Making Money Online?

We’re about to find out.

Jon Svec
SYNERGY [Newsletter Booster]
2 min readDec 24, 2023

--

Photo by Yuri Efremov on Unsplash

I’ve read all of them.

All the writers who do a great job writing online about writing online. (You know who they are.)

I find them informative, entertaining, and inspiring.

I really do.

But I can’t help but notice that all of them seem to make money writing online about the same thing, which is making money writing online.

It’s a never-ending circle that I’m hoping to break.

My Mission

I’m on a mission to see if I can make money online by actually writing about my passion, which is Canadian football schemes and techniques.

It doesn’t get more niche than that. Even if I reach every single person on earth who cares about this subject, my readership will never be massive.

But the experts say that doesn’t matter.

We’ll see.

Full Disclosure

To be totally transparent, I’m not starting from scratch.

I’ve been writing online about this subject for a while now and have amassed a small following.

I’ve even published a couple of e-books, which have brought in a bit of dough. Not much, but it’s a start.

I’ll be sure to go back and share that part of my journey as well.

Moving Forward

My goal at this point, however, is to see how far I can really take this thing.

And I’ll be documenting everything along the way.

I have a modest yardstick for success. I have no desire to quit my day job.

I’m just curious how much extra money I can bring in by sharing my knowledge on this narrow subject.

If you’re reading this post, I’m guessing you have a similar goal.

What’s your greatest passion? What knowledge have you gained over your lifetime that you can share with the world?

Is there a way to make some money by writing about it online?

Let’s find out.

--

--