“Carpe Diem…”

A poet’s immortal words prominent in my premiere promptsponsive tanka to Sahil Patel’s challenge

Marcus aka Gregory Maidman
SYNERGY
Published in
4 min readJun 7, 2021

--

42505215 by mybaitshop licensed from depositphotos.com

The prompt: Write a poem about the thing that you want to change in yourself?

Procrastination
A defense mechanism
Leads to stagnation
Heed Horace’s homily
Arrive at destination

I have battled procrastination my entire life. Some would call it laziness. I get that, but that does not paint the correct picture. I enjoy putting in the work, more so if I like the work. Having a high level of intelligence, I have for the most part gotten away with procrastination. Have I though? I have had to live with the stress of looking at the horrible messes on my desks for months at a time over the course of countless years.

Just getting by does not lead to progress.

As written by Elaine Birchall, MSW, RSW, and Suzanne Cronkwright in their blogposts in Psychology Today:

Are you procrastinating and having difficulty maintaining your initial enthusiasm to declutter, or are you taking other actions that you want/need more in your life than the mental, physical, and spatial clutter that surrounds you and weighs you down? Perhaps getting started is where…

--

--

Marcus aka Gregory Maidman
SYNERGY

Living 17,043rd human life. I am Marcus (universal name) or you may call me Greg; a deep thinker; an explorer of ideas and the mind.