How A Cold Email Turned Into A Full-Time Writing Gig

One email changed my life.

Jamie Alvarenga
SYNERGY
3 min readApr 12, 2023

--

Christin Hume via Unsplash

Sometimes putting yourself out there pays off, and I learned that first-hand in 2015.

I was working as a medical credentialist in a stereotypical office atmosphere. The job wasn’t horrible, it just didn’t give me that *spark.* When I wasn’t working, I was writing on my personal blog and had a few articles published on small websites. Writing was my passion, and I yearned to take it to the next level, but I didn’t know how.

One day while perusing Google, I came across a website I had never seen before. I noticed that it was missing a particular section — a section that I’d be the perfect writer for. It took me a few hours to work up the courage, but I finally sent a message to the contact email.

I kept my inquiry casual and didn’t expect to hear back, but I did receive a response:

“Thanks for reaching out. We do plan to hire a writer for that section, but we’re not quite there yet. We’ll keep you in mind when the time comes.”

I was elated but skeptical. Months passed — six months, to be exact. Turns out, the website owner did keep me in mind, and after submitting a practice piece, I got the job.

In the following years, writing turned into editing, leading social media efforts, and eventually co-managing an SEO team. I was able to quit my office job and doubled my previous salary.

All of this happened because one day I was feeling brave, and sent an unsolicited email.

Stephen Phillips — Hostreviews.co.uk via Unsplash

Now to answer some questions you may have:

1. This worked in 2015, but could it work today?

Absolutely! You just need to reach out to the appropriate websites and/or businesses.

Large, seasoned corporations already have rules and legalities in place. They’re strict about their hiring processes and aren’t as likely to respond to cold emails.

On the other hand, start-up websites are still working out the kinks. They’re more likely to accept help. Reach out and prove that what you offer is valuable. Assure them that not only will you help their business stay afloat, but you’ll also help them thrive with new ideas, strategies, etc.

2. Nobody ever responds to my cold emails. Should I follow up?

Not everyone reading this will agree with me, but I usually follow up only once. I don’t like to appear pushy, and if the company hasn’t responded after the first or second email, they’re likely, not interested, and it isn’t a good fit.

I’ve also heard of the 3x3 rule, which is three emails three days apart. I’m a believer that less is more.

3. What did your original cold email say?

When I said I kept it casual, I meant it! In a couple of short paragraphs, I explained why I was passionate about the particular topic. I also attached a silly photo of myself that proved I had pride in that area. I was lucky that the website owner was also laid back and appreciated a more personal email.

I can only assume that most business owners prefer a bit of personality over a long list of all of their accomplishments. Point out your qualities and experiences that will benefit the company and prove your passion, yet keep it simple.

Has a cold email ever worked out for you? Are you a business owner who has thoughts on unsolicited emails? Let me know in the comments!

For more stories about writing, life, parenting, and more, follow me on Medium!

--

--

Jamie Alvarenga
SYNERGY

Top writer in Journalism sharing stories about writing, life lessons, humor, and more.