Thought Leadership

“De-Curation” Is a Thing Now

Time to understand the impact and implications of this undesirable situation on great writers of Medium

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
SYNERGY
Published in
9 min readMay 25, 2021

--

Photo by Persnickety Prints on Unsplash

Challenges in content platforms for creators never end. One issue closes, and another one pops up. In this article, I touch on an unusual topic. We had to coin a name for it.

Curation has been a mystery on Medium, and now it gets even more mysterious. Many of us heard about “curation-jail”, which has been a thing on Medium. Like several writers, I have been experiencing this phenomenon. My concerted efforts cannot take me out of this virtual jail. However, this is not the point of my story.

This story is about a new incident, as some writers call it “de-curation” or “reverting distribution”. So we coined new terms related to the curation process. Looks like these terms can hit the online dictionaries soon.

Let me give you context so that my points in this story make sense to you.

Several writers contributing to my publications sent me an unusual request asking me why their curation labels disappeared from their articles in the last few weeks. Some of these writers think our editors removed the label “chosen for distribution” from their stories.

--

--

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
SYNERGY

Scientist, Technologist, Inventor, focusing on HEALTH and JOY. Founder of ILLUMINATION, curating key messages for society. Connection: https://digitalmehmet.com