Four Years On Medium: The Mistakes That Held Me Back

And why I wasn’t strong enough to overcome them.

Ahmad Hamzeh
SYNERGY
Published in
6 min readMar 30, 2024

--

I’ve been writing on Medium since 2019 with zero accomplishments whatsoever. I believe that the algorithm was more helpful back then, as I am reaching a smaller audience now although I’m fully knowledgeable of my enhanced skills and writing style.

This article is not to nag about this platform—quite the opposite.

I am aware of my mistakes, and I regret every single one. This platform is capable of increasing your reach and making you money. If you succeed in building a credible name you can use it to your advantage when job hunting.

Medium has its own rules and conditions to meet. They have their algorithm and many are thriving on it. The issue isn’t the platform; it’s me.

And all my mistakes revolved around one thing: constant quitting.

This creator journey is novel for me. Even though I’ve been writing on this platform for some time now, I still haven’t accomplished anything worthwhile. I’ve reached a maximum of 1000 views/month, and my highest monthly earnings were about 15$. This made me realize that I’m not a worthy writer yet.

To give you a clearer image, those numbers were the product of 100 articles scattered…

--

--

Ahmad Hamzeh
SYNERGY

Civil Engineer | SEO Copywriter / Content Creator - I Write Strategic Copy That'll Grow Your Audience.