Get Writing Ideas by Disagreeing With Your Younger Self

Your old notebooks can be an invaluable source of inspiration.

Postmodern Bookworm
SYNERGY
3 min readMar 25, 2021

--

Journaling is one of the few things that are keeping me somewhat sane. Writing a diary helps with anxiety. In my case, it reduces loneliness. Journaling is the way to make peace on the battlefield of my mind. Journaling is a necessity for me.

I have a habit of reading my notebooks a few years after I’ve written them. It makes me feel ominous, a bit scared, and confused. It gives me the sensation I no longer recognize myself from my earlier writings. Still, reading old notebooks has offered me dozens of writing ideas. I hope that you too can see this possibility of reading your old pieces of writing.

Disagree with your past writings

I don’t know if you are familiar with this feeling. I know I am. When you read your old writings, you notice how wrong you were about something. You see how limited your thinking process has been. You might observe that you used to hold opinions you no longer stand. You might notice that there is something you have learned you didn’t know back then. It could be anything. The only criterion is that you cannot agree with your past self.

How to write about your disagreements?

Pick one thing on your old notebook you no longer agree with yourself.

Example #1

Maybe you have written that you love the music by some artist. You wrote that you find Adele’s lyrics relatable and emotional which helped in your situation back then. Now, you hate that kind of music. Write about it. Write about the reasons for change, write about how you think it happened. Maybe you want to write about what kind of music you like to listen nowadays. It can be anything, don’t censor yourself.

Example #2

Three years ago, you wrote that you want to be a history professor at the university. Now, everything has changed. You want to be a digital nomad instead and make your living by writing articles about your interests. Write about it. Write how you think about it. Write about how you have changed as a person. Create an article about how we tend to choose our dream careers. Get your inspiration by disagreeing with your younger self.

Example #3

Five years ago, you thought your favorite book was The Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien. Now, it’s All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr. What made you change your opinion? Has your literary taste changed? Write about the books, compare them. What made them be your favorite books? Write about the experiences you’ve had that made you find your new favorite book. Write about your disagreements with your past literary taste.

I know my examples are made-up. I know they don’t describe your situation. Though I know you get the idea.

To conclude this:

A small how-to guide: This method is as easy as it gets.

  1. Find your old notebook.
  2. Spend nostalgic time reading it.
  3. Find something that grabs your attention.
  4. Write about it.

You might end up with a desire to burn the notebook you once wrote. Why? Because you are ashamed of what you wrote. It’s okay. It’s a sign that you are wiser now. Even if you want to burn your notebook, this method is still worth a try.

--

--

Postmodern Bookworm
SYNERGY

Aspiring journalist | Writing about society, media, & culture | Neil Gaiman enthusiast | Seeking understanding & empathy