Writing and Mental Health

How I Defeated Writer’s Block and How Quality Writing Can Enrich Your Life

What is writer’s block, why writing fear and anxiety happen, and how to overcome them with three practical solutions based on experience

Dr Mehmet Yildiz (Main)
SYNERGY
Published in
12 min readAug 14, 2023

--

Photo by SHVETS production from Pexels

Recently hundreds of new writers joined my publications. I greet them in my Slack workspace and offer my assistance. During these conversations, a frequently asked question relates to the fear or anxiety of writing.

Most of these writers feel anxious to post their first stories. I have strong empathy and compassion for them as I suffered from writing anxiety too.

Interestingly some of these new members are professionals and experts in their fields. Some are even retired scientists like Mike Broadly, who volunteered to share his recent story reflecting his situation.

Anyone can experience this widespread issue, and it is curable by changing our perspectives and taking some actions to require our brains to create new neural connections and strengthen them.

As a science and technology student, I struggled with writer’s block a lot, especially when I was writing about fun topics. I thought that writing for pleasure should be easy…

--

--

Dr Mehmet Yildiz (Main)
SYNERGY

Scientist, Technologist, Inventor, focusing on HEALTH and JOY. Founder of ILLUMINATION, curating key messages for society. Connection: https://digitalmehmet.com