How I Gave Up My Job In The Police To Write Full Time

Caroline Mitchell
SYNERGY
Published in
5 min readMay 7, 2024

--

After nine years of working in the police, I gave in my notice to write full-time and ended up selling over two million books. How did it feel? Amazing. How did I do it? Read on …

How I gave up my job to write full time…author Caroline Mitchell smiling
I love working for myself. Image copyright of author Caroline Mitchell

Fell into Writing

I first fell into writing in 2012, when my family and I had a life-changing experience. If you’re interested, you can read about it here. But when it came to publishing my true story, I didn’t expect to get very far. Nobody was more surprised than me when it sold well. I wrote for therapy, but it seemed people enjoyed my writing too. After spending a year writing my first book, I had been bitten by the bug and did not want to stop there.

I decided to write something I’d enjoy, putting my experience in both the police and paranormal into play. And so the DC Jennifer Knight series was born. I was thrilled when an editor offered me a three book deal with publishers Bookouture, just on the strength of book one, Don’t Turn Around. But it was not all plain sailing. I was working full time as a detective constable, had a family of four, and was contracted to produce a book every six months.

Me in uniform, before I became a detective. Image author’s own.

Reaching Burnout

--

--

Caroline Mitchell
SYNERGY

NYT, USA Today, Washington Post and international #1 bestselling thriller author with 2M books sold. Ex-police. Writing course provider. www.carolinemitchell.co