How to Market on Pinterest, Best Practices

Best Pinterest Hacks

C. L. Beard
SYNERGY
3 min readMay 24, 2022

--

Wood with obvious grain showing. Sitting on top is a set of Scrabble tiles written out to say Pinterest.
Image courtesy of Pixabay

About two months back I started using Pinterest to market my business. To get more traffic to my site and to automate my outreach I needed to find some way to make it so I did not have to either network locally or reach out through cold email all the time.

I am a grant and copywriter living in the Pacific Northwest. My goal with Pinterest was to find a way that I could use it to help with marketing my business as I found networking and cold emailing a bit cumbersome, to say the least. It is time-consuming.

One way to get more traffic is by having excellent SEO. I will cover that a little here but if you don’t know what SEO means or how to do it you might read up on that first.

Step One

Open a Pinterest account as a business account. This is of primary importance. A business account allows you to connect your business site to your Pinterest account. Doing this for your website, that you are going to send traffic to, will have relevance to Pinterest. Pinterest will trust your website.

Step Two

Get a graphics account so you can create pins. Canva is what I use but there are others you can use for this. Picmonkey is also very good. You don’t have to use what I use.

Step Three

Since you will be creating your own unique or fresh pins, you will need the pro version of whatever you are using.

Step Four

Create some pins. There are a lot of tutorials online for doing this if you need help. Go to Youtube and search for using Canva or Picmonkey to make Pinterest Pins. Then you will be all set.

Step Five

Do some SEO research on your selected area of business. The better you are at doing this research the better your results with Pinterest will be. If you do not know how to do this kind of research then I suggest a query on Youtube for how to do SEO research.

Step Six

Take the information from Step Five and when you download your pin save it using the keyword you just researched. That will help the algorithm Pinterest categorize your content more efficiently. This is something most pinners do not do.

Step Seven

When you are creating your pin use the same keyword you had used in Step Six to be your pin title. Trust me it helps with SEO.

Step Eight

In the Alt Text for your pin use the same keyword again. It helps with SEO.

Step Nine

For the description again repeat the SEO keyword you had researched in Step Five but add a little color as I call it. You can expand a little as to what you are meaning with the keyword.

Step Ten

Schedule and publish.

I have found the more times you have the keyword you are targeting associated with your pin the better your performance with Pinterest will be. That will make for more leads and business and growth for your company.

It is important to keep in mind that Pinterest is a search engine. It is not social media, and that means your content will be pushed out with well-thought-out SEO research. A good strategy using SEO with Pinterest can grow your brand well beyond what is possible with social media platforms because the curation is SEO. Once you have SEO figured out then your content will grow and grow and so will your audience for what you are trying to offer.

I will cover more about what goes into creating a great pin in another post.

Thank you for reading

Also, if you are not a Medium member and you would like to gain unlimited access to the platform, consider using my referral link right here to sign up. It’s $5 a month and you get unlimited access to my articles and many others like mine. Thank you.

If you want to subscribe to my email list click here.

My business site is here

--

--

C. L. Beard
SYNERGY

I am a writer living on the Salish Sea. I also publish my own AI newsletter https://brainscriblr.beehiiv.com/, come check it out.