I Made $300 From Music Marketing

Here Is what I learned

C. Joel
SYNERGY
2 min readOct 22, 2023

--

Photo by Rezli on Unsplash

Marketing music is not easy. You not only have to be good, but you have to be aware of the trends and able to create the exact styles that are in demand for the times.

The Music Industry is Sleazy

I used to put time into making these really cool artistic backgrounds for my promotional videos; I would occasionally sell an instrumental, but very rarely.

Until one day, I noticed that other artists weren’t making any of the effort I was with their visuals. They were just slapping trendy pictures on their beats and calling it a day.

I tried their strategy and immediately made 10x the sales on my next beat.

Saturation is big.

Everybody wants to make money creating music. If you can’t find a niche that is both untapped and has a high amount of demand, you can basically forget about it.

For every instrumental you create, there will be 10 people giving away a free one that sounds very similar to it.

Anyone can download FL Studio.

The beats that sell (from my experience) are the ones that you can’t just make by slapping some loops together on FL Studio.

The best beats are the ones that take skill. You’ve got to write original melodies. Design your own synths. Play an instrument, etc.

Including authentic guitar and bass was the best thing I could do for my music business.

Wannabees will get all the credit

the ugly truth about making beats is that people will find a way to rip you off, steal your beats, and give you none of the credit. And unless you’re with a major label, you’re not going to be able to do very much about it.

Everyone thinks they’ll just sue people who take their copyrighted beats or lyrics until they find out how much lawyers cost.

Ultimately, I had to make a lot of adjustments to get into the business of selling beats. Just like any other creative business, you’ve got to learn to be the starving artist for a while before you see much success.

--

--