I’m No Social Media Darling Yet: My Evil Plan for Domination

What I’ve learned about promoting my writing online

Julie Ranson
SYNERGY
Published in
7 min readSep 27, 2021

--

Photo by Designecologist from Pexels

You have to market your writing

I finished a historical fiction novel and I’m working on two more books. I also write regularly here on Medium, using some posts to also populate my website blog. Whether I publish my debut novel the old-fashioned way using a literary agent and a traditional publisher or opt into the indie publishing craze, I will need to market my writing.

Before I wrote the first word of my debut novel in 2020, I was watching YouTube videos by authors. I wrote about that learning process once before.

I have an MBA (Master’s in Business Administration) with a marketing specialization and my business mind tends to lead the way in much of my thinking. So, through all my YouTubing and research, I definitively absorbed the necessity of an author platform. I started working on it when I developed my website in late 2019. I love designing websites and used to have design clients across the country twenty years ago.

Social media is another animal entirely. But I’m getting the hang of it and know now what I’m doing well (I hope) and what I need to work on. So, let me share with you what I’ve discovered about four platforms…

--

--

Julie Ranson
SYNERGY

Word Lover. Writer. Self-improver. Believer. Widow. Mother of three adults. Find me everywhere: https://linktr.ee/jjranson