Storyteller Tactics: practical use

Inbox surprises

Getting published on paper

Britni Pepper
SYNERGY
Published in
3 min readMar 22, 2023

--

Body of Work

There are a few books around with my name on and maybe one day they will be collector's items selling for outrageous prices. I guess they are already, but not in a good way.

There may be a couple more soon. I received a notification that an anthology is coming out with one of my stories in it. A story written to order concerning a most unlikely adventure entirely unclad.

And a notice that an editorial team has been selected for a new Australian collection of speculative fiction to be published by a group in the national capital.

I’ve been watching the process for a while. These folk put out more or less annual anthologies and attract writers from around the world, though of course they are most concerned with Australian authors.

Like me, I guess.

Anyways, I’ve been thinking about a short story for some months. It has a science fiction theme to it, but like a lot of these things, it’s all about the idea, rather than the story. It’s a hook to hang a tale on, and I have only the vaguest notions of the garment, just the things that I want to stick in its pockets.

--

--

Britni Pepper
SYNERGY
Editor for

Whimsical explorer: Britni maps the wide world and human heart with a twinkle in her eye, daring you to find magic in the everyday.