Medium Is A Lot Like Winning In Las Vegas

Arthur Keith
SYNERGY
Published in
3 min readFeb 18, 2024

--

Once you win, you can’t stop playing

My stories with the highest views of my Medium career. Snippet by author.

Lately, I have been writing more and more about how obnoxious this and that are on Medium. Mainly, it’s the sheer number of stories about Medium on Medium that I’ve been whining about.

And now here I am writing about it. That’s like twice times in two weeks. Some writers seem to make a career out of it.

Oops, I did it again. It played with my heart, got lost in its game.

But look at the above. I did not get going on Medium until 2021. That July, I hit my highest jackpot with a story on climate change. I also got a $500 “Reader Engagement Bonus” for that story, for $983 to date! I still get hits on that story, and mostly from internal readers.

When you score like that, you think you’ve found the (I’m not going to say secret sauce) niche you’ve been looking for.

So, like pumping quarter after quarter into the one-armed bandit (younger generations would not understand that entire sentence), I wrote about climate change and found an even more targeted niche: the megadrought in the West.

While none of the subsequent articles have done nearly as well as this one, eight of my top twenty money makers have dealt with the megadrought and/or the Colorado River. I’m releasing another one tomorrow.

--

--

Arthur Keith
SYNERGY

My goal is to inform, educate, & entertain. Top writer in LGBTQ, Music, Climate Change. Directionally dyslexic with an excellent sense of direction.