Medium New Partner Program: Opportunity For Indonesian Writers

A glimpse of hope to earn money from Medium as an Indonesian

Nurma Komala-Hadi
SYNERGY
4 min readJul 19, 2023

--

Perhaps, some of you writing on Medium as a canvas to express the journey of a 5 years intimate relationship that has ended like a stranger. Or treating Medium as a diary for some writers who were clever enough to catch every millimeter of essence from everyday life, a kind of life when writers need to survive, to work, and to wait for a blue bus that often the scheduled time works tentatively.

I love Medium.

Well, at first I was using this platform as a talking-to-the-wall activity. But, as a writer who happened just starting the long journey ahead of the writing process, I need something to improve my skill, to prove my love for what I am passionate about. When you love someone, the act of saying “I Love You” for the first time is not the love itself. Deciding to love as clarity of progress (mind) means to remedy the act of love towards the love. So, I love you, writing. Now, what should I do to make myself closer to you?

My love for writing is on the edge of a premature breakup as I changed my ism. But, to end the relationship before executing the plan to watch a rom-com movie in the theater likely tastes like when you forget to brush your teeth in the morning.

“If the plan doesn’t work, change the plan, not the goal“— I don’t know who said first.

So, I keep writing until I reached 100 followers, a policy given by Medium to start your Partner Program also known as the way to monetize your writing.

Unfortunately, Indonesia like our Passport, we are pretty much being excluded. It just means I couldn’t earn money even if I get IK claps or a total of 10K readers per article. There are alternatives like Buy Me a Coffee, Ko-fi, and Stripe but essentially not from the Partner Program.

Anyway, I decide not to give up. I shall keep reminding myself how some of the Top Writers earn money after 2 years of being insanely consistent writing on Medium. They are crazy.

The Good News

On Wednesday (July 19), I received one article from my Indian fellow writer, for brief information, their country is among the 2nd consumer groups for the Medium platform after America. The article stated:

  • “On August 1st, we will expand the Partner Program to accept applications for these additional 12 countries: Brazil, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Gibraltar, Hungary, India, Liechtenstein, Malaysia, Malta, Thailand, and the United Arab Emirates”.

The Bad News

Yes, I know. Indonesia is still being ignored!

But, here’s the next sentence from the same above paragraph.

  • “By the end of the year, we plan to open up to another 50 or so”.

IT’S NECESSARY TO READ THE ORIGINAL ARTICLE BELLOW.

What to Do?

I like to see Medium as a Social Media platform like you use Instagram, Twitter, or TikTok. Continuity and perseverance are the keys to your success online. There are no instant success and the one who earns the viral label also needs to think “What’s next?” after their viewers went down from a million to a hundred.

I’m a rookie writer, here is a brief step to enter the Medium journey:

  1. If you start from 0, like me, you could use #100Followers to reach your first 100 followers. Don’t hesitate to have lots of following. I’m seeing some Indonesians waiting to take only the follow-option with no articles and even following back. You need to support other writers, and I’m here at my place now surrounded by writers who taught me to be humble and to appreciate other writers.
  2. Try to publish an article every day during the first-second week on the platform. People who follow you need to assure that you’re committed.
  3. Start to publish your story on the Publication site. Like ILLUMINATION. Remember to visit the chosen Publication site because each of them has its own criteria for the published article.
  4. To write and to read, repeat.
  5. Claps, comments, highlights, and share. Inspiration does not only belong to the one who had a minimum of 1K followers.
  6. Writing is indeed hard, but the challenging part is not when you are stuck but to stop.

A Letter For Indonesian Reader

I’m thinking to make a Publication site for Indonesian Writers. For me, the publication is not only a place to reach more readers, but to gain support and learn to be a better storyteller.

If you are interested to execute the idea, I shall call this project “we”, not only “I”. My ultimate goal besides making a supportive publication is to persuade Medium to LOOK AT US, Indonesian writers on Medium.

Anyway, thank you and long life the fighters!

--

--