Medium Writers Beware Of De-Curation

You can get into curation jail anytime after getting your article curated

Sahil Patel
SYNERGY
2 min readMay 29, 2021

--

Photo Credit:- Karsten Winegeart On Unsplash

I am writing on this platform for 12 months. Medium changed a lot. Sometimes, it’s hard to understand the changes of Medium.

I like to share my experience with people. It will help other writers to grow and understand the Medium. Articles written about the Medium don’t have any chance of getting curated or distributed.

Someday, ago I have written an article about my experience with curation. Here, you can read about this story.

After some time, I read the story from Dr Mehmet Yildiz about De-curation. Here, you can take a look.

In this article, he mentioned that some writers of his publication sent him a request about why suddenly their curation labels disappeared from the stats. One month ago, when I was celebrating my first year anniversary on Medium, my first post got curated. I was so happy to receive this amazing surprise from Medium.

Suddenly, after some days the curation label was disappeared from the stats. I didn’t know what was going on. Even my story stopped receiving more views.

This not only happened to me. This happened with so many other writers, too. It's just creating unusual stress for the writers. Not any of the writers received the reason from Medium to de-curate the articles. It’s completely fine to De-curate our article from Medium. But as writers, we want constructive feedback from them about De-curating our articles. Feedback will let us know the reason behind the De-curation.

Bottom Line:-

This article is only for all medium writers to let you know that De-curation is a thing now like curation. So, don’t take it seriously. If it happens to you. Don’t worry, it happened with so many writers. Curation is an excellent way to improve as a writer. Curation losses its value because of De-curation.

To conclude, focus on writing quality articles. If your articles deserve the attention of readers, it doesn’t require the label of curation. Your article can go viral without getting curated.

Don’t aim for curation. Aim for giving sometimes valuable to your readers and rest will be taken care of.

--

--

Sahil Patel
SYNERGY

3× Top Writer in Poetry| Reading | Inspiration.