Writing on Medium

My Breakthrough: How I Made More on Medium in April Than My First 7 Months Combined

From Echoes in the Void to 11,800 Views: Embracing Authenticity, Persistence, and Compound Growth

Tyler Lubben BBA
SYNERGY
Published in
4 min readMay 1, 2024

--

Photo by Jake Nackos on Unsplash

Have you ever felt like you’re shouting into the void? Yep, that was me. For months, I poured my heart and soul into my Medium articles. Then April came along, and with it, a breakthrough I didn’t see coming.

In April alone, 7,100 incredible people read my writing. Even more astounding, 11,800 eyes viewed my articles. These numbers represent people from across the globe who connected with my words. To all my readers, I owe you thanks. Your support has been so encouraging.

But how did we get here? It wasn’t a fluke, nor was it purely luck. The secret? Compound growth. It’s a magical phenomenon where small, seemingly insignificant efforts stack up, leading to results that far exceed our expectations.

Photo by Etty Fidele on Unsplash

The Power of Persistence

For much of my early writing career on Medium, success felt out of reach. I would get close, only for it to dodge my grasp at the last moment. Sound familiar? If it does, here’s what I’ve learned: do not give up. The moment you think nothing is happening is often right before everything starts to happen.

Photo by Jonathan Cosens Photography on Unsplash

The Ripple Effect of Sharing Authentic Stories

I’ve always believed in the power of authenticity — being brutally honest about the highs and the lows. It wasn’t until I embraced my own advice, sharing more personal insights and setbacks, that I noticed a shift. Readers don’t just want polished success stories; they crave realness, a peek behind the curtain. It’s in the shared struggles and vulnerabilities that we connect most deeply.

Photo by Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash

Compound Growth: The Unsung Hero of Progress

Now, onto compound growth. Imagine you plant a seed. Each day, you water it, ensuring it gets enough sunlight. At first, nothing seems to happen. But underground, roots are stretching out, gathering strength. Then, one day, a sprout emerges, and before you know it, you’re standing in the shade of a mighty tree.

That’s how my April felt. Each article I wrote, every story shared, was like watering that seed. The process was slow, often frustrating, with progress invisible to the naked eye. But beneath the surface, my efforts were compounding. The growth, when it finally showed, was exponential.

Photo by Courtney Hedger on Unsplash

Gratitude and Moving Forward

To my readers, I am endlessly grateful for your engagement and feedback. Your interest in my work has been the greatest reward. This experience has taught me that success on Medium, much like anywhere else in life, is a marathon, not a sprint. It’s built on consistency, learning from feedback, and the relentless pursuit of growth, both personal and professional.

For those of you still in the thick of it, feeling like you’re not making headway, remember this: compound growth is your ally. Keep laying one brick at a time. Trust the process, even when it feels like you’re not moving. Your breakthrough moment is coming.

I’m not just celebrating my success in April. I’m celebrating growth, resilience, and the incredible community on Medium that makes everything worthwhile. Here’s to many more months (and years) of writing, connecting, and growing together. Remember, your biggest breakthrough might just be around the corner. Keep writing, keep sharing, and most importantly, keep believing in your journey.

Loved what you just read? 👏 Show your support with a clap! Or better yet, drop me a comment with your thoughts, or highlight your favorite part. Each clap, comment, and highlight boosts my visibility and sparks more conversation — so don’t be shy; interact away! 🌟💬✨

Want to transform your life with advice that matters? Get practical tips delivered straight to your inbox. 🌟 Subscribe to my FREE newsletter today and start making meaningful changes! ✨

Subscribe Now

--

--

Tyler Lubben BBA
SYNERGY
Writer for

Travel, Writing Advice and Finance Writer. Published Author.