ENTREPRENEURSHIP

Pivoting Away From Copywriting

Zero regrets

Lola Rosario
SYNERGY
Published in
7 min readMay 16, 2024

--

You are not the work you do. You are the person you are.
~ Chloe Anthony Wofford Morrison aka Toni Morrison, Nobel Prize & Pulitzer Prize-winning novelist, editor and professor

Copywriting is about more than stringing words together. It’s about sales, marketing, a business plan, finding leads, and trial and error.

Though my [very slow starting] journey began in January 2020, it wasn’t until April 2023 that I got my first client.

Here’s a snapshot of my journey and why I decided to switch gears.

The Courses

I tried free courses as well as paid training. Whether the former or the latter, I was provided with a plethora of information in various forms: email, newsletter, shared Google document(s)/spreadsheet(s), YouTube videos, and at-your-pace online coaching (note: this last one was via Teachable).

The breakdown details follow.

Sarah Turner Agency
Cost: Free

Working from anywhere, while making good, reliable money is 100% possible.
~ Sarah Turner

This was my first dive at considering copywriting; it was the start of 2020. I signed up for Sarah Turner’s 6

--

--