Writing

Six Months In: My June Medium Earnings Defied Logic

Less effort but more impact

Tracy Collins
SYNERGY
Published in
5 min readJul 5, 2024

--

Photo by Ojus Jaiswal on Unsplash

Something unusual happened in June. It defied the idea that you need to write more to earn more. But there’s a caveat.

For months, I had a goal to publish twice a week which is eight stories. I didn’t always have great story ideas, so sometimes I forced a story to hit my target.

When you are getting started on Medium, it’s important to write even when you don’t want to. You write when you’re tired, busy, sick, and irritated. You write when the words you’re trying to express can’t be wrestled out of your brain. You write even when you find out your ideas are wrong. You (try to) write daily so you don’t lose momentum.

Nevertheless, in June, I hit a sweet spot. I published fewer stories but earned more.

Let me explain

Every month, I share my progress to date. Here are the last six months which are color-coded to highlight progress.

Screenshot by author

The green rows are months that I earned more. Though earnings are a great metric to track, it’s the impact that counts.

--

--

Tracy Collins
SYNERGY

I write about personal finance, early retirement, women in tech, travel, and life.